Continuing a Love Affair With the Great Allegheny Passage Trail - Gapped Traversal of (most) the GAP: Tea Time Trilogy - CycleBlaze

Continuing a Love Affair With the Great Allegheny Passage Trail

My daughter Lauren was born in 1990 when I was 33, at a time when my career was starting to heat up. A new baby added on top of work time and travel had pretty much ix-nayed my biking. My trusty, but not yet rusty, Schwinn Voyager was gathering dust.

But, in 1991 we planned a family vacation to Deep Creek Lake in Western Maryland and in researching things to do out there I came across mention of an 11 mile trail that had been opened from Confluence PA to Ohiopyle PA along the Youghiogheny River. I knew my my 10 year-old son and his friend who was coming along, as well as my wife, could do 11 flat miles out and back with a lunch break - all I needed to do was figure out how to bring 18 month-old Lauren along.

I bought one of those rear rack kinda baby seats, put it on the Schwinn and we jammed 4 bikes onto a rack on the back of my wife's Ford Explorer and headed west. We had a blast on that trail section, although my daughter was not a fan of wearing a helmet - within a few miles of the start she ripped it off her head and threw it to her right where it rolled down the embankment almost into the river!

After that trip, I moved up to a Winchester kid trailer and we did lots of family rides on trails in the Baltimore Washington area - I even ended up  writing a book

Heart 0 Comment 0

That progressed to a third-wheel add-on and Lauren and I would bike to her elementary school during the week and on many Maryland/DC trails on the weekends. It also reignited my love of cycling and got me into bicycle touring with a group of friends and on state multi-day rides.

More germane to this journal, that first ride on what would eventually become mile 61-73 or so of the Great Allegheny Passage led to a decades-long love affair with the GAP. In 2016, 2017 and 2018 (and an upgrade from that old Schwinn to a Trek 520 for touring) I pulled together increasingly larger groups of friends and rented the entire Parker House in Confluence PA for what we called "Camp John" - an adult GAP biking-centric weekend, along with many other activities, culminating with everyone riding downhill from Deal PA to Cumberland MD on the GAP, using a local bike shop as a shuttle service.

Camp John Campers at the Parker House in Confluence
Heart 0 Comment 0

Various life issues put an end to recurring Camp John, but the GAP kept pulling me and during a Covid "lull" in October 2021, my bike and I got on Amtrak from Washington DC to Pittsburgh and I did a 2 day GAP through-ride.

GAP Rest Stop in Boston PA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Not long after that trip, I found out I had Hodgkin's Lymphoma and 2022 was pretty much a zero year for cycling.

But the GAP kept calling...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesWe award you a prize for pretty close to the magic 1000. It almost feels like everyone is holding off either to hit 1000 or to avoid looking like they are trying too hard. Glad you jumped in with this interesting and well written journal.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago