Day 96: Silver Lake Provincial Park to Ottawa - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

September 8, 2010

Day 96: Silver Lake Provincial Park to Ottawa

Another short day today. This gave me a chance to have a look around Ottawa.

On my cross-Canada tour in 2001, the UIC bakeshop built a wheel for me in a day in an emergency. I was grateful for this and I used to send them postcards from my bike trips to say thanks. The first thing I did after arriving in town was to stop by. Sadly, the shop is no longer there.

I headed to the visitor information centre to ask about bike shops and getting out of town. They were quite helpful. They gave me a list of bike shops. I was able to pick up a spare tire at Pecco's. They also gave me directions from hedney.com for a nice ride out of town.

In the evening, I visited Parliament Hill.

I stayed downtown at the Ottawa Youth Hostel in a private room ($56.50) where I was able to keep my bike in the room.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=45.42441,-75.69925&ll=45.42441,-75.69925&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Locks on the Rideau Canal.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My bike in the Ottawa Hostel (an old jail). This is the very spot where I discovered that my wheels would not carry me home on my 2001 cross-Canada trip. I spent the day getting a new set built at the UIC bike shop. Sadly, the bike shop is no longer there.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More locks on the Rideau Canal.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Centennial Flame and the Peace Tower and Centre Block of the Parliament Buildings.
Heart 0 Comment 0
West Block of Parliament Buildings.
Heart 0 Comment 0
East Block of Parliament Buildings.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A statue of Prime Minister Pearson on Parliament Hill. The only Canadian to win the Nobel Prize for peace.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ottawa River.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 105 km (65 miles)
Total: 11,599 km (7,203 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0