Day 95: Brighton to Silver Lake Provincial Park - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

September 7, 2010

Day 95: Brighton to Silver Lake Provincial Park

A good day for cycling. I had a strong tailwind all day. I was able to find quiet roads for most of the way. The weather was co-operative too. It started cloudy and then cleared mid to late afternoon. There was a thunderstorm in the evening, but I was able to get my tent set up before then.

I had noticed a periodic bump when cycling a couple of days ago when I passed through Oshawa. Today, I figured out what the problem was. There was a bulge in my front tire, and it was going progressively worse. I replaced the tire in the tent during the thunderstorm. The tire failed the same way as the rear tire did outside of Winnipeg. They are both Schwalbe Marathon XRs. The failure mode that I am used to is the tire wearing until you can see the cord. These tires seem to develop bulges first. However, I do not feel the need to complain if I get over 10,000 km on a tire.

I stayed at Silver Lake Provincial Park and called the youth hostel in Ottawa with my cell phone to make a reservation for tomorrow.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=44.8298,-76.57791&ll=44.8298,-76.57791&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Canadian Air Force base in Trenton.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 153 km (95 miles)
Total: 11,494 km (7,138 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0