Day 82: Lake Superior Provincial Park to Sault Ste. Marie: Velorution - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

August 25, 2010

Day 82: Lake Superior Provincial Park to Sault Ste. Marie: Velorution

There were lots of hills today, but there was only one real hill after Montreal River. There was lots of construction though - a total of 5 construction areas.

Lake Superior Provincial Park in the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There was a solid wind today that whipped up some big waves on Lake Superior.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Along the way I found the marker that marks the half-way point of the Trans-Canada Highway. I was looking forward to it, since there is a picture of me in front of it on my 2001 cross-Canada trip. I looked fit, tanned and happy in the picture. The monument was rededicated in 2003 and they plastered over the inscription saying it marked the halfway point. It was disappointing. You can never step in the same river twice.

Former monument marking the halfway point of the Trans-Canada. It has been re-dedicated.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sign by a closed down gas station.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I met a couple of cyclists who stayed at Velorution last night - Boris and Etienne. They are from Normandy France. They started from Montreal and are cycling in Vancouver. They wild camped for the first 13 days of their trip before staying at Velorution last night.

Boris and Etienne - two cyclists from France.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stayed at Velorution on the east side of Sault Ste. Marie. It is an amazing place. There is a free campground for touring cyclists. The bathroom is spotless with cool cycling art and the showers are hot. It is within walking distance of grocery stores, restaurants etc. When I arrived, a lady showed me around the store, campground etc. Another one of the employees said they had 200 cyclists stay with them over the summer. It's getting late in the season, so I am one of the last ones. I bought a cycling jersey and a cool cycling cap while I was there. It had rained a bit during the day and the weather was looking questionable overnight, so they let me stay underneath the canopy just outside the store. I can't say enough good things about Velorution.

http://www.velorution.ca/

Velorution - a popular stopping place for cross-Canada cyclists. There is a free campground behind the shop. Over 200 cyclists stayed with them this year. It's getting late in the season, so I will be one of the last.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Velorution Campground.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More Velorution Campground.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was going to pour rain overnight, so they let me set up my tent under the canopy after they had closed down.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Even the bathroom at Velorution was beautifully done (and immaculately clean).
Heart 0 Comment 0

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=46.53964,-84.31375&ll=46.53964,-84.31375&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Today's ride: 135 km (84 miles)
Total: 9,866 km (6,127 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0