Day 77: Kakabekka Falls to Thunder Bay - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

August 20, 2010

Day 77: Kakabekka Falls to Thunder Bay

A light rain started just as I finished packing up this morning. While picking up some supplies in the grocery store the person behind me in line suggested that I take Oliver Road through town. It goes straight through to the other side (although it may change names). This turned out to be very good advice.

On the way through town, it started to rain really hard. I tried to wait it out for a bit, but it didn't seem to want to let up.

After I had passed through town, I visited the Terry Fox Memorial. It is right next to the visitor centre. Technically, you cannot cycle or walk there because the highway is an express way. However, I went there anyways and asked a lady at the Visitor Information Centre. She said that people just ignore that. For the record, if you head west from the visitor centre it becomes a divided highway quickly and it is best to get off before then. If you are headed east from the visitor centre there is a nice paved shoulder for the next 15 km.

I pulled into the KOA just east of Thunder Bay and took a cabin ($66). The lady who runs it remembered me from my trip across in 2001. I stopped back then on a very hot day and she was quite worried about me overheating. She actually came out to my tent site to check up on me. This time they were very helpful sending a fax to Edmonton to make my hotel reservation for the Grey Cup. So, two thumbs up for the Thunder Bay KOA.

http://koa.com/campgrounds/thunder-bay/

Looking at the maps, Nipigon seems like a reasonable goal for tomorrow - 122 km. If things are going well, Rainbow Falls Provincial Park is about 180 km away.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=48.49805,-89.12903&ll=48.49805,-89.12903&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kakabekka Falls.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Terry Fox Memorial - about 10 km from where he was forced to stop his run. He's facing west as he would have during his run.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A wet cyclist by the Terry Fox memorial.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of my first views of Lake Superior. You can barely make it out through the fog.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The kind lady from the Thunder Bay KOA who remembered me from my 2001 cross-Canada trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 km (29 miles)
Total: 9,152 km (5,683 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0