Day 74: Caliper Lake Provincial Park to Fort Frances: You can't go back - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

August 17, 2010

Day 74: Caliper Lake Provincial Park to Fort Frances: You can't go back

I had been looking forward to the junction of 17 and 11. When I went across the country in 2001, there was a general store there. I went in and bought some food and they handed me a water bottle saying that they gave water to all cyclists. When I stopped in this time, they had no such policy. Perhaps, I should have skipped it and not spoiled the memory.

About 1 km north of the junction, I met cyclists Andrew and Cory. They started in Portland Maine, went out to the maritimes (as far as Saint John) and then cycled out here. Their plan is to cycle to Winnipeg and then take the train to Japser. They plan on winding up in California. They seemed to be having a blast. We took pictures of each other and promised to write Crazy Guy journals.

I stayed at Pithe Park on the eastern edge of Fort Frances. The ride today was in nice weather. However, I got caught in a thunderstorm when I went out for groceries. It was my own fault. I spent too long resting after setting up.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=48.61869,-93.36057&ll=48.61869,-93.36057&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Caliper Lake in the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Perhaps I should check my map again.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Andrew and Cory - two young cyclists who seemed to be having a lot of fun. I met them about 1 km north of the intersection of Hwy 71 and Hwy 11.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 102 km (63 miles)
Total: 8,782 km (5,454 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0