Day 73: Rushing River Provincial Park to Caliper Lake Provincial Park - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2010

Day 73: Rushing River Provincial Park to Caliper Lake Provincial Park

It rained overnight, but fortunately it stopped by morning. So, I was able to pack up a dry tent.

Traveling across Canada west of Thunder Bay there are two options - Highway 17 or Highway 71 and 11. I choose 71 and 11 since there were a number of nice provincial parks along the way and the route figures to be quieter than 17. Of course between Thunder Bay and Nipigon there is a single choice for roads. The roads twisted and turned today, so I had a headwind at times, but it was mostly a tailwind. The road had a shoulder near the provincial parks, but it often disappeared in other places. Traffic was light enough and people were polite enough that it didn't really matter.

I stayed at Caliper Lake Provincial Park ($31.25). My site is right on the lake and I could hear waves hitting the shore and wind in the trees. There was a quite a wind today. Fortunately, I was able to set up my tent in an area sheltered from the wind.

I might as well register my complaint about provincial parks in Ontario. There was a camp site a couple over from me that had two pick up trucks, at least 2 adults, 2 kids and a couple of dogs. They paid the same price that I did. It would be really nice if hikers/bikers, who use less facilities, were given a discount and allowed to stay in the group camping area (if there is one).

It turned out to be a good decision to stay put yesterday. Firstly, I needed a rest. Secondly, when I talked to the staff at Caliper Lake Provincial Park it turned out that it rained all day. I might have been a bit further along, but I would have been cold and wet. I am now rested mentally and physically. As an added bonus, I stocked up on groceries at Sioux Narrows and Nestor Lake today so I am well stocked for the next few days.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=49.05448,-93.91409&ll=49.05448,-93.91409&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Wooden bridge at Sioux Narrows.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bike at Caliper Lake campground.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 95 km (59 miles)
Total: 8,680 km (5,390 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0