Day 7: Port Hardy to Ferry, Ferry to Prince Rupert - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2010

Day 7: Port Hardy to Ferry, Ferry to Prince Rupert

I woke up early this morning. My neighbours had already left for the ferry. I packed up and cycled the few kilometers to the ferry.

There were 6 cyclists who were taking the ferry to Prince Rupert and we quickly banded together.

There was Owen, an ironman competitor from St. Catherines who was cycling for a few days.

There was the two sisters from the campground - Ester and Claire. They're cycling across Canada. Ester is a pastry chef who lives in Vancouver. Claire is a waitress who has a business making purses etc from recycled materials (bicycle inner tubes, , car seat belts etc.)

http://www.urchinbags.com/

Alvaro and Alicia are a couple from Spain who are travelling around the world. They flew into Vancouver and are on their way to Alaska. From there they will make their way to South America.

http://www.rodadas.net/

While we were talking, Alvaro and Alicia mentioned that they had travelled through Switzerland in 2005. I had cycled through Switzerland that year and got caught in a flood and had to be rescued. A state of national emergency was called. A large portion of the town of Weesen spent the evening in a high school gym. The press came and I was interviewed by a paper and a TV station. So, it was only natural that I ask them if they had been caught in the floods. They hesitated for a bit and then said 'I think we have a picture of you in our scrapbook'. They agreed when they get home in a year they would send me a copy of my picture. From then on, they referred to me as 'Cosmic Guy'. I hope to be able to visit them some day in Spain.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/avoyali/4720437224/in/set-72157624193622710

It was wonderful to have such a great group of people to pass the day with.

The ferry ride itself was very nice - lots of great scenery. We saw dolphins a a couple of humpback whales. When things were slow I chatted with the other cyclists or we played some cards.

It was getting dark when the ferry arrived. There were some high winds which delayed our departure from the boat so it was dark and rainy when we left. The others headed to their accomodation and I was on the way to the campground about 1 km from the ferry. By the time I got through the line up with all of the RVs, it had started to rain. When the people running the campground found out I was just staying overnight, they told me I could set up under the gazebo. It was very nice of them and saved me from sleeping soaking wet. It cost $19 to stay at the Prince Rupert RV Campground.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=54.29818,-130.34472&ll=54.29818,-130.34472&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Alvaro and Alicia, on the way to Alaska as part of their round the world trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 6 km (4 miles)
Total: 492 km (306 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0