Day 6: Around Port Hardy - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

June 10, 2010

Day 6: Around Port Hardy

It was a pretty quiet day today. I spent most of the day doing errands and hanging around. The first order of business was to buy my ferry ticket ($170 + $5 for bike). I was told to show up at 5:30 am for the ferry. *Ouch*

While buying groceries, I ran into the lady that I met at Woss yesterday. She recognized me immediately, but it took a while for me to remember her.

I saw a couple of cyclists heading to the tourism office while I was out and about. I went in to say 'hello', but they were busy on the internet there and seemed engrossed, so I left them alone. When I returned to my campsite later, it turned out they were staying at the campsite beside me. We chatted for a bit. They are planning on taking the ferry tomorrow as well, so I will probably see them there. While we were exchanging stories, they told me that they were planning on camping in Woss a couple of nights ago. While they were on their way up, they encountered some people who were on their way down who had a couple of bears they had just shot in their pickup truck. It was at that point that they decided they would much prefer a motel for the night. They also saw a bear in 'Bear Alley' that had been described to me earlier.

A point worth noting: BC tourism gives out maps of regions that have campsites marked on them. These are very useful for planning. I picked one up for Vancouver Island on my way north.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=50.70914,-127.47649&ll=50.70914,-127.47649&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Today's ride: 24 km (15 miles)
Total: 486 km (302 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0