Day 64: North Battleford to Colonsay - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2010

Day 64: North Battleford to Colonsay

There was a great tailwind today. My original plan was to stop at Saskatoon. However, I am a great believer that when you get a tailwind on the prairies, you go with it. So, today was a long day. It was a bit of a challenge to get through Saskatoon. There is a ring road that doesn't allow bicycles at all points. So, I ended up cycling in a generally easterly direction until it was legal for me to be on the highway again.

I ended up at Painted Rock Campground ($18) about 8 km west of Colonsay. The showers there are just like at home.

I had my first flat of the trip today. It was my own fault. There was a piece of tire on the road. I usually avoid these like the plague because they have little metal wires in them that penetrate the tires and are very hard to find. When I saw it I checked my mirror and saw a car waaaay back. Nevertheless, I went between the piece of tire and the edge of the road instead of around to the left (where traffic would have picked up any stray wires). A few metres later, I noticed my rear tire getting soft.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=51.98108,-105.95738&ll=51.98108,-105.95738&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 201 km (125 miles)
Total: 7,580 km (4,707 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0