Day 62: Vermillion to Maidstone - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2010

Day 62: Vermillion to Maidstone

The weather was clear, but hazy today with a light tailwind. It has actually felt like summer the last few days. I have been wearing a jersey and shorts (no jacket) and it is warm at night. I followed the Yellowhead Highway the whole way. It was rolling with some wetlands in Alberta. There were mosquitoes, but nothing like the Yukon. It was pretty flat in Saskatchewan.

Wetlands in Alberta.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More wetlands.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Even more wetlands.
Heart 0 Comment 0

A new province (Saskatchewan)! I should point out that Lloydmister is a city spanning two provinces - Saskatchewan and Alberta. This is unique. Some have cities on both sides of the border, but they are separate - unlike Lloydminster which is a single city. It creates some unusual situations since the taxes are different in the two provinces.

The city of Llodminster straddles the Alberta-Saskatchewan border.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped off at the Visitor Centre in Lloydminster (Saskatchewan). They were quite helpful. I was also able to check my e-mail there. They have a very useful map of Saskatchewan. It lists all the towns that have campgrounds. Many of the towns have inexpensive municipal campgrounds. This makes it very easy to find accommodation while touring here. My experience is that the people here are also wonderful. The downside of touring here is that it is not as interesting as most places - it's pretty darn flat.

I considered stopping 5 km before Maidstone. Halfway Park Campground had non-serviced sites for only $8. However, they had a boil water advisory since July 6, 2010 and no access to town or the grocery store. I decided to go on and did not regret it.

I ended up in Maidstone RV Park ($10). The shower cost $1, but it was well worth it. I stayed in the overflow area where they had a nice gazebo where I could do my cooking. I had the overflow area to myself.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=53.08682,-109.27339&ll=53.08682,-109.27339&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 128 km (79 miles)
Total: 7,278 km (4,520 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0