Day 51: Muncho Lake to Summit Lake - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 25, 2010

Day 51: Muncho Lake to Summit Lake

On the way out of town, I stopped in to buy some groceries. It turns out they are really a restaurant with just pop, juice, candy bars and chips. This is one of the two places that has groceries before Fort Nelson. I had lunch at the Toad River Lodge along the way (burger and fries).

There was a lot of up and down today. After about 30 or 40 km the road turned east and I had a sharp decent. After that there was tailwind helping me.

It was a respectable day for wildlife watching. I saw a couple of caribou.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was getting tired near the end of the day, and tried to stop at the Rocky Mountain Lodge about 10 km before Summit Lake. The person running it said he had no tent sites (due to bears) and all his rooms were booked. He also said it was only 2 miles to the provincial campground (it turned out to be 5). He also said it was all downhill from Summit Lake to Fort Nelson. When I asked him about the climb to Steamboat - which others had told me about, he replied that there was no climb. He proved to be a very unreliable source of information. However, I am happier here than I would have been there. Although I was tired, the climb wasn't all that bad.

I stayed at the Summit Lake Campground in Stone Mountain Provincial Part ($10 - a special deal! Normally $16). The caretaker of the campground was a kind gentleman and he reminded me of my grandfather.

The plan for tomorrow is to end up at Fort Nelson. It would be nice to get an early start. I didn't get on the road until 9:30 AM today. This is the highest point of the Alcan Highway, so I should enjoy some nice downhills. The caretaker of the campground said there is a 6 or 7 km climb to Steamboat and then 15 km of downhill after that.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=58.6511,-124.65049&ll=58.6511,-124.65049&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Muncho Lake
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Approaching Summit Lake - the highest point on the Alcan Highway.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 112 km (70 miles)
Total: 5,665 km (3,518 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0