Day 50: Coal River to Muncho Lake - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 24, 2010

Day 50: Coal River to Muncho Lake

It was overcast all day today, but it did not rain until after I set up my tent (so it didn't count :).

It was very windy today. There was a strong tailwind from Coal River to the Liard River. Then the road changed direction and there was a very strong headwind for about 20 km. After that, there was a mix of headwinds and tailwinds - go figure. I ate at the Liard Hotsprings Lodge for lunch. Given the wind, it might have been a good idea to stay there or at the campground across the road. It would have been luxurious to soak in the hotsprings there. I have heard that there are lots of buffalo there. However, hindsight is 20-20.

The wildlife watching was decent today. I saw a black bear and a buffalo.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I tried to go to the campground in Muncho Lake Park. The sign on the highway said there were vacancies. However, the signs were lying. I backtracked about 1 km up the road and stayed at the Muncho Lake RV Park ($18) in a nice sheltered spot. They have hot showers, but I was too tired. I just wanted to eat and go to sleep.

I spoke to the lady who runs the campground. She said that there are only 2 places to get groceries between here and Fort Nelson - at the Double G a couple of kilometres down the road and at Toad River. So, I should be careful to stock up.

My plan for tomorrow is to make it to the Summit Lake Campground in Stone Mountain Provincial Park. It is just past the highest point on the Alcan Highway (1125m). If all goes well, I could go on to the Tesa Provincial Park (another 30 or 40 km).

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=59.02779,-125.77717&ll=59.02779,-125.77717&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 117 km (73 miles)
Total: 5,553 km (3,448 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0