Day 43: Moose Creek Campground to Tachun Creek Campground - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 17, 2010

Day 43: Moose Creek Campground to Tachun Creek Campground

I had breakfast with Ray and Brenda before heading out. They are staying in Whitehorse for a few days. So they gave me their number and the campground where they plan to stay.

The weather was overcast all day, but there was no rain.

This morning, I met Matt. He is a touring cyclist from Seattle who is heading in the opposite direction. He was planning on going to Chicken Alaska, but apparently the road there has been washed out on the American side. He sailed up to Skagway. I gave him some advice on the road ahead and on the Dempster.

If the road is washed out, this could be to my advantage. I think many RVs take the Alcan into Alaska and then return via the Top of the World Highway and Dawson. If the road is washed out, then this will reduce the traffic where I am now. (A fine example of profiting from other people's misfortunes.)

I was able to fill up on groceries at the general store at Pelly Crossing. Since I am now retracing my route, I have a good idea of where to get groceries.

I stayed at the Tachun Creek Campground ($12).

Tomorrow, I hope to make it to a government campground north of Whitehorse - the close the better. Lake Labarge would be the best.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=62.28276,-136.30718&ll=62.28276,-136.30718&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

The monument to Pelly again.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The bridge over the Pelly River. The (free) campground is over the bridge and on the right. The town and general store is over the bridge and on the left.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Interesting cloud formations.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 178 km (111 miles)
Total: 4,610 km (2,863 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0