Day 42: Dempster Highway Mile 0 to Moose Creek Campground - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2010

Day 42: Dempster Highway Mile 0 to Moose Creek Campground

I started the day with a big breakfast (pancakes, hashbrowns, bacon and OJ) to celebrate completing the Dempster. It's been a while since I started the day that well fed. As I was getting ready to leave, I met a geologist who was working in the area. He was exploring the same areas that were explored during the Klondike Gold Rush. I mentioned Pierre Berton's book and he had read it too. Being out there really made the history come to life for him. He said he ran across lots of artifacts while working and he recorded their location with his GPS. He had given some thought to publishing a book.

There were lots of clouds all day. I could see rain ahead, but the clouds seemed to part for me and I remained dry. It was almost embarrassing how good my luck was. There was a good tailwind all day too. I was riding the crest of a storm.

As I was nearing the campground for the night, Ray and Brenda passed in their car. They stopped and decided to stay in the same campground. Brenda prepared a great dinner for us - a significant upgrade from what I was going to fix myself. During our discussions, they mentioned that they are both cancer survivors.

Another nice thing about being off the Dempster is that the maintenance is now easier. I had to tighten the bolts on my racks every evening after riding on the Dempster. This is no longer the case!

I stayed at Moose Creek Campground ($12).

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=63.50777,-137.03026&ll=63.50777,-137.03026&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 116 km (72 miles)
Total: 4,432 km (2,752 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0