Day 30: Engineer Creek Campground to Eagle Plains: I wash my face - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2010

Day 30: Engineer Creek Campground to Eagle Plains: I wash my face

There was no rain today. At the start of the day, it was clear at road level, but there were some low lying clouds at the top of the valley. It cleared up later, so you really couldn't ask for a better day. The road around the Engineer Creek Campground was very good - almost like pavement. Elsewhere, the road was good but a bit rough in a few spots.

It was a long day, but there were no organized campgrounds along the way. I did see the shipping containers that Paul had stayed in and found them tempting, but I continued on nevertheless.

When I arrived at the Eagle Plains Hotel ($15.75), I walked in to register for the campground. The people in the area stared at me. I figured it was because they don't see many cyclists here. When I went to shower I realized why. My face was black except for 2 round bits where my glasses protected my eyes and there was a line on my forehead that was white because my helmet kept me protected. I really should have taken a picture, but I was just too tired to walk back to the tent for my camera. I apologized for my appearance when I went back into the hotel. The lady's comment was, "Don't worry about it. This is the Dempster".

I was also able to pick up the food I had sent here from Dawson City. There are showers here and drinking water. I am now well prepared for the rest of the trip up the Dempster.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=66.37376,-136.71661&ll=66.37376,-136.71661&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Engineer Creek
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Engineer Creek.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Engineer Creek. You can see the highway maintenance camp to the right.
Heart 0 Comment 0
You can see through the grating to the water below. I imagine the bridge is pretty slippery when wet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view at kilometre 3000 of the trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A rough legged hawk.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fireweed growing at a forest fire site.
Heart 0 Comment 0
These would be the shipping containers that the cyclist I met spent a couple of nights in. I opted for the campground by Eagle Plains a bit further up the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 178 km (111 miles)
Total: 3,158 km (1,961 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0