Day 29: Tombstone Range Campground to Engineer Creek Campground - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2010

Day 29: Tombstone Range Campground to Engineer Creek Campground

I had oatmeal this morning. I expect this to be my standard breakfast on the Dempster. Before leaving I stopped over to visit Ray and Brenda and we took some pictures before leaving.

The top of the North Fork Pass (1400m) was only a couple of kilometres up the road. There are some amazing views of the Tombstone Territorial Park from there. While taking pictures, Ray and Brenda came by. They took some pictures of me. So, I now have evidence that I can actually ride a bike. I also climbed the Windy Pass today (1000m).

Along the way, a motorcyclist stopped to talk. It seems that everything was going well for the both of us. However, we agreed that it could all change quickly.

The skies were mostly clear today. It threatened to rain once or twice, but I got off with a couple of light showers. The road was pretty good, but it can change quickly.

A couple of kilometres before the campground, a motorcyclist stopped and asked me if I had a CO2 cartridge. I apologized as I only had a pump. It seems that his buddies had just passed him when his wheel started to lose air. He figures that they continued to Dawson City and are now happily drinking beer. Hopefully, they will come back to help him out. I showed him the Dempster Guide so he would know how far he is from the upcoming campsites.

I stayed at the Engineer Creek Campground ($12). There are just a few sites, but there is a shelter with a screen to help keep the mosquitoes away. And there are lots of mosquitoes here. I am very happy that I brought a bug suit with me. When I went to register, Ray and Brenda had left a note on the bulletin board encouraging me. Bless them! It certainly lifted my spirits.

I'm certainly feeling better about the road now. The weather could still sink me, but it should be do-able.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=65.35256,-138.26775&ll=65.35256,-138.26775&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

My friends Brenda and Ray.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking up the North Klondike River valley towards Tombstone Mountain.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ray and Brenda caught up to me and were kind enough to take a few photos of me.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A rare shot of me actually riding my bike.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ray and Brenda in their vehicle.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Progress!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 125 km (78 miles)
Total: 2,980 km (1,851 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0