Day 19: Teslin to Johnson Crossing - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2010

Day 19: Teslin to Johnson Crossing

It started to rain at 9 or ten last night. It's still raining. It's not supposed to stop raining until tomorrow afternoon.

I hung around the campground this morning hoping the rain would stop. Sadly, it didn't. I spent the time well though. I had a nice pancake breakfast at the campground. Eventually, I had to decide what to do. I packed up, waited for the rain to let up a bit and headed out.

There is a nasty bridge crossing into Teslin. It's the longest bridge on the Alcan Highway. It's a metal grating, so you can see the river when you look down. It was wet when I crossed so it was *slippery*. I took it carefully and eventually made it across. I stopped in at the grocery store to top up my supplies. A local cyclist offered some encouraging words on the way out of town.

When I got to Johnson Crossing I decided to stop in for a cinnamon bun. I walked inside dripping wet. The lady inside asked me if I was cycling. When I said 'yes', she said 'Give me your jacket. I'll put it in the drier and get you a cinnamon bun and a coffee.' They had a campground and showers there. I decided that I liked the hospitality and would spend some more time there. After dinner at the restaurant and a warm shower, I felt pretty good.

I ran into a cyclist from Taiwan at Johnson Crossing. He started in Skagway Alaska and was on his way to Jasper and on to Vancouver. He decided to keep moving, so I didn't find out much more.

End point for the day:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=60.48288,-133.30738&ll=60.48288,-133.30738&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

The longest bridge on the Alcan Highway. Teslin is on the far side. The bridge is basically a metal grating, so it is very slippery when wet.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 1,824 km (1,133 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0