Day 18: Rancheria to Teslin - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

June 22, 2010

Day 18: Rancheria to Teslin

I had a pancake breakfast at the restaurant this morning. It was a nice change from the oatmeal or cereal I usually have. I had a conversation with a truck driver while waiting for the food to arrive. I was hoping he could give me some tips on reading the weather by looking at the sky. He said he just checks the internet. Oh well.

There was some light rain in the morning, but it stopped after a couple of kilometres. The roads were up and down all day, but the grades were gentle.

I met the first bicycle tourist I have seen in over 1000 km. He is from Stutgart Germany and headed in the other direction. His plan is to go to Jasper, Banff and then on to Calgary. He should have a great time. The most beautiful road I have ever cycled is the Icefields Parkway from Banff to Jasper.

I stayed at the Dawson Peak Resort ($14.70). It is a nice place with friendly staff.

http://www.dawsonpeaks.ca/

I was about to go into the restaurant when a lady in a nearby campground offered me some food. It's hard to turn down, so I joined Deb and Debbie. They are two teachers from Minnesota travelling by RV to Alaska. It was very kind of them to offer me food and I enjoyed the company.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=60.10999,-132.55406&ll=60.10999,-132.55406&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

The campground was by historic mile 710 of the Alcan highway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rancheria Falls
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rancheria Falls There was a parking lot with a picnic shelter here. There were some motorcyclists who camped there overnight. The walk to the falls was 5 minutes along a well maintained path.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A handsome fellow by the continental divide.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It seems that the tourist industry is struggling in the Yukon. Many places are closed - including this entire town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The remnants of a forest fire.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Salt stains on the back of my cycling jersey at the end of the day. Rather disgusting.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 130 km (81 miles)
Total: 1,760 km (1,093 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0