Day 102: Riviere du Loup to Edmunston NB - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2010

Day 102: Riviere du Loup to Edmunston NB

I had breakfast at the hostel before heading out. There was a very steep climb out of town. It was slow going climbing out of the St. Lawrence drainage system.

I took the Route Verte after leaving town. The path was made of crushed gravel which was damp and soft. I became a bit frustrated with the directions on the route. There were 2 signs just 20 metres apart. One said that it was 103 km to Edmuston and the other said it was said that it was 129 km to Edmunston. When part of the route was closed there was a detour that took me to Highway 185. There were never any signs that indicated the Route Verte was open again, and I didn't look too hard.

However, the part of the Route Verte that I did was nice. There was lots of tree cover and lots of wild camping opportunities. It was very quiet. I even saw a couple moose along the way.

Back on the highway, I encountered Peter from Don Mills Ontario, who was fixing a flat tire. He had started this trip from Uculet on Vancouver Island and is going to Newfoundland (but not St. John's). He took Highway 85 out of Riviere du Loup. I'm not sure it was legal, but nobody stopped him. He has had more problems that I have had this trip. He has had to replace 2 rims along the way.

At the New Brunswick border (new province woohoo!) I stopped in at the visitor information centre to pick up maps and find accommodations. They were quite helpful.

There were grey skies all day, and it rained 2 or 3 times during the day.

I stayed in an overpriced hotel tonight (Comfort Inn). I took my bike inside when nobody was looking.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=47.37622,-68.31543&ll=47.37622,-68.31543&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Au revoir!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 118 km (73 miles)
Total: 12,376 km (7,685 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0