Thinking Small: Very Average - Breaking the Cycle - CycleBlaze

March 20, 2024

Thinking Small: Very Average

As I noted in a previous post, I'm a terrible runner.  However, I'm an average jogger: I can jog 5 miles in under an hour.  The average human who can ride a bicycle, should be able to do about 10 miles per hour for 10-20miles.  Even on the old bikes, I've been able to do that for more than 20 miles.  With a little more training, and the new and better bike, my goal is to get to the point where I can average over 15 mph for at least 40 miles.  Still pretty average.  Riding at average speed is nice: you can take in the scenery, sit up in the saddle, and breathe.  For me, this ride is not a race, it's a meandering journey with a destination.  I'm grateful for the opportunity, and cognizant of the fact that so many can not jog or ride due to injury or illness.  

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bill Shaneyfelt15 mph average is good unloaded at that distance, but loaded makes a big difference!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago