Peloton: Collaboration at the Top - Breaking the Cycle - CycleBlaze

March 22, 2024

Peloton: Collaboration at the Top

I'm in New York City this weekend spending time with my son and some old friends.  The hotel fitness center has a Peloton, and since I don't like riding in cold weather, I decided to hop on the Peloton.  I did the R&B workout with Alex Toussaint (not to be confused with Allen Toussaint, the late, great R&B musician).  I like Alex; of course, I try to live the expression "one love" which Alex espouses.  Today, I particularly appreciated his assertion, "Collaboration at the top, competition at the bottom." This is the definition of peloton.  The word comes from French, meaning "small ball," and in the 17th century was used to refer to a small group of soldiers, or platoon.  In cycling it refers to a group of riders bunched together on the route.  The riders in front are doing most of the difficult work, the riders toward the back of the bunch may enjoy as much as a 40% reduction in drag.  

I'm grateful to the peloton of biking enthusiasts that has shared their knowledge with me in bars, books, bike shops, and comments on social media (like this journal:).  I've also been buoyed by a peloton of supporters who have joined me in the war on poverty by contributing to the ride ( https://gofund.me/735d3ed7 ).  Their contributions will significantly reduce the drag of poverty in communities across the nation.  Whether you are interested in biking or becoming a poverty abolitionist, I suggest you find your peloton.  If competition motivates you, great.  But per the quote from Alex Toussaint above, we win--or lose--together.  Let's collaborate and get a win.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0