Zahara — Puerto de las Palomas loop - Escaping the Rain--In Spain - CycleBlaze

November 26, 2021

Zahara — Puerto de las Palomas loop

We had a fantastic ride today!  

I had been wondering if I’d made a mistake booking us 3 nights in Grazalema (nonrefundable, of course) as we shivered.  It must be warm here sometime, they have a very nice outdoor public swimming pool, and as I mentioned in an earlier post, we are far from the only tourists here.  But the past two days have been c-c-cold!

Today, however, was the day. No forecast of rain, there was even some sun, and no appreciable wind.  Perfect, since this was one of the rides I was most looking forward to when I planned this trip.  I didn’t take my good camera so relied on my iPhone today.

The ride started with a descent through town, then a little climb, then an 8 km descent. I wore all my layers so I look like a giant lemon, but I didn’t get chilled.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Al on the descent. He didn’t wear as much as I did to start out so he did get a little cold, I think.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Still descending.
Heart 4 Comment 0
There’s water in the reservoir! When we first saw the south end of it, it was dry but this looks more like the blue shape on the map. That’s Zahara in the saddle (middle left third of the photo).
Heart 5 Comment 2
Scott AndersonWhen we first biked in Andalucia in 2004 we came to the opposite shore of this lake, planning to bike across it and spend the night in Zahara and then climb to Grazalema the next day. It was a major disappointment when we came to the water’s edge, because the lake didn’t exist yet on our old Michelin map that was probably printed before the dam was built in 1994.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Scott AndersonI read about that! Although I can’t see myself ever giving up paper maps, electronic data can be useful.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Look at that blue sky!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Taking a short break on the climb to Zahara and looking back at the reservoir.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Approaching Zahara. Al has finally warmed up enough to take off his jacket, but not his toque. By this point, I’d had two delayering stops.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Another white town off in the distance. Olvera, perhaps.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Bike portrait, Zahara de la Sierra
Heart 3 Comment 0
Looking the other way…
Heart 1 Comment 0
Coffee stop in a sunny plaza, Zahara
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another nice 1958 model, Zahara
Heart 0 Comment 0
A different view, Zahara
Heart 3 Comment 0
Starting on the Puerto de las Palomas climb. These markers were every km along the route (on the 0.4s for whatever reason). These are the first like this we’ve seen in Andalucía.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A flattish bit of the climb
Heart 3 Comment 0
A not-so-flat bit
Heart 5 Comment 0
That’s our road up there. 2.4 km to go!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Only 400 m to the top!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Made it!
Heart 4 Comment 1
Ralph StiebelCongratulations Jacquie - I am pretty sure that I could NOT make that climb. At least not in one day! lol
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
This time, Al layered up for the descent before his commemorative photo.
Heart 4 Comment 0
We are up high! We are also wondering what the black and white signs mean since we’ve been seeing a lot of them.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Ralph StiebelI think they're grave markers. Indicating "Don't Go There!"
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Descending with almost all my layers on again. I didn’t bother with the softshell pants as it would be a short descent to the end of the ride.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A fun descent!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 km (22 miles)
Total: 1,122 km (697 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Scott AndersonCongratulations! I’m so glad you were able to make this ride. It’s one I’d love to take again myself.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Scott AndersonYeah, I’d like to do it again someday too!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonThat’s great that the weather cooperated. Congratulations!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
David MathersWell done you two! Looks like the perfect loop with lots of challenging climbs, great vistas and fun downhills 👍
Reply to this comment
2 years ago