To Jimena de la Frontera - Three, Two, One....Tour - CycleBlaze

March 28, 2023

To Jimena de la Frontera

It was a wild windy and wonderful day along a winding road that hugged the hillsides and took me up, down and through the Serranía de Ronda to Gaucin and beyond to Jimena de Frontera. If Gaucin is called the "Balcony of the Serranía”, the road I was traveling was the “Balcony Highway.” And the weather was near perfect - brilliant sunshine, temperatures in the low 70s – the only concern was forecast for southeasterly winds of 10-15 mph.

 I headed south from Ronda, steadily climbing into an annoying headwind that slowed but did not impede my progress. Soon after I’d started, I passed a man with a truck who was stopped at a pullout – he offered me a lift but I quickly declined, out of pride perhaps, or and maybe a sense of caution/self-preservation. The road snaked through dry rocky hillsides that rose on my right and, as I gained elevation, layers of tree-covered ridges and peaks stretched east on my left. I was traveling one of the Red de Miradores de la Serrania de Ronda that snake through this region and I stopped at nearly each mirador I passed, marveling at the small white villages that dotted the mountain range.  

A beautiful day as I started the climb
Heart 5 Comment 0
The stone wall barely visible on the right borders the road as it winds through the rocky hillsides
Heart 6 Comment 0
As I gained elevation, the peaks of Parque Nacional Sierra de las Nieves began to appear
Heart 3 Comment 0
A deep ditch ran alongside on my right, ready to catch falling rocks or a wayward cyclist
Heart 4 Comment 0
Mirador del Fraile - one of the many mirador stops of the day
Heart 6 Comment 0
A view from the Mirador del Fraile
Heart 5 Comment 0
The Balcony Highway - wide, well-sealed, and I had it almost all to myself
Heart 6 Comment 2
Janice BranhamI love these tantalizing shots that lure you on to see what's around the bend.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Approaching Atajate
Heart 6 Comment 0
Along the Balcony Highway
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

another mirador then gaucin

Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 12 Comment 3
Scott AndersonWonderful. This is really one of my favorite roads anywhere.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonThank you for the inspiration to cycle it!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsThose ruins atop the crag in the middle background are forbidding and formidable. I'd hate to have been the one assigned to storm them. Then aga I'd also hate to be the one who had to fetch the water for the place.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0

down the hill to Jimi

Heart 2 Comment 2
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 394 miles (634 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachael AndersonGreat photos! I’m glad you made it safely in spite of the winds. You sure are tough!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierBeautiful pictures! I'm adding this to my "to do" touring list!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago