Return to Raleigh - Three, Two, One....Tour - CycleBlaze

May 26, 2023

Return to Raleigh

My return flight to Paris was uneventful and I arrived in Raleigh as scheduled. The greatest challenge was getting from the airport to my house - due to the holiday weekend, my usual cadre of family/friend chauffeurs were out of town. We'd arranged with my sister to leave their truck at the RDU parking garage - mine was in the shop waiting for a new battery. After a few minutes of wandering around level 4 of the parking deck, I located the truck, loaded my bags and was heading home. 

Heart 3 Comment 0

I was anxious about entering my condo, wondering how the mold remediation project had gone. The mold has been eliminated but the air purifier that the company installed was an ozone-based system and was too powerful for the size of my unit, resulting in a lingering and  unpleasant odor in the unit. The Unfortunately the odor still remains, even though it’d been two weeks since the offending unit was removed and replaced with an ionization-based purifier. From what I gleaned from the internet, it may be that some of my furniture/belongings were oxidized by the excess ozone – my next task is to track down the odor and remove the offending item(s). Meanwhile, I opened all the windows and turned on the fans in hopes that the odor will abate.

My homecoming has not been the most welcoming, but I’m sure that I will soon settle in to life in the US. My upcoming touring plans are hazy, other than RAGBRAI in July. The best guess at the moment is that I’ll get another long-stay visa and be back in Europe in early spring, 2024. After all, I can’t quit Paris.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Kathleen JonesI see no reason to quit Paris, so please carry on.

Thanks for another great journal.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Kathleen JonesThanks Kathleen, and thanks for your comments and for following along
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kirsten KaarsooI hope the smell abates and you can enjoy your summer in the US.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Mike AylingThanks for another great journal Susan.

I look forward to your 2024 journal.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Scott AndersonWelcome ‘home’, though it’s clear enough where your heart is.

“ So if you're smart, really smart / Only trust your heart”. Astrud Gilberto
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonThanks Scott - and I should definitely listen to one of my favorite Latin Jazz vocalists
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
ann and steve maher-wearyHi Susan
Glad to see you made it home safely. Thank you for the tour of Paris on your last week. Paris looks as stunning as always. A wonderful journal once again. Steve and I have not only enjoyed following along, we loved our rendezvous with you in the Ardeche. Here’s to more get togethers in the future!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Laura ChiharaWelcome home Susan! Enjoyed reading about all the great bicycling you did this past year!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago