In Carmona - Three, Two, One....Tour - CycleBlaze

April 6, 2023

In Carmona

First, a few words to wrap up last night:

Once I got to my hotel room yesterday, I took a long bath and and had a little catnap before my online French class. By the time class was over, I heard the distinctive sound of the brass band signaling a Paso was nearby. My hotel was right next to the Iglesia de Santa María, but as I had no balcony view, I ventured outside to have a look.

 A modest crowd watched as the Paso slowly approached, adorned with Mary surrounded by tiers of candles. I soon realized that this was the end of the procession, that Mary was being brought back to the church. The costaleros slowly ascended a ramp over the church steps, turned and marched the Paso through the guarded Church entrance. The crowds cheered and then headed to Plaza San Fernando to celebrate.

 As I’d seen throughout the week, everyone was dressed sharply and enjoying this time of celebration with members of their community. Children laughed and played on the Plaza, teenagers flirted in the awkward way of adolescence, families and friends gathered at high-tops enjoying a drink and easy conversation. Meanwhile elderly folks like me tried to find a seat on a bench to take it all in. Actually, I was trying to find some food, but only drinks were available from the many tapas bars. I finally settled on a small cup of freshly made mini-donuts from the Buñuelos kiosk, plain- no chocolate or other additions. There was another Paso coming through town, but I’d seen enough – it was time to put a cap on the day.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Safely inside Iglesia de Santa María
Heart 3 Comment 0

 Today

I woke this morning with a sore throat. I’m not sure whether it was the road dust I inhaled or if I’m coming down with something. Not wanting to take a chance of getting sick, I spent most of the day lounging around - resting/reading/journaling. I did go out in the morning for a quick walkabout town – a visit to the Alcázar de la Puerta de Sevilla and some ice cream were all that I managed.

Iglesia de Santa María
Heart 2 Comment 0
Iglesia de Santa María
Heart 5 Comment 0
Iglesia de Santa María
Heart 3 Comment 0
A quiet San Fernando Plaza in Carmona
Heart 0 Comment 0
In Carmona
Heart 5 Comment 0
The Church of San Pedro of Carmona - the Tower is known as the Giraldilla, based on similarity to the the Giralda in Seville.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Atop the the Giraldilla of the San Pedro Church
Heart 3 Comment 0
The dome of the Church of San Pedro de Carmona
Heart 4 Comment 0
Walls of the Alcázar de la Puerta de Sevilla
Heart 3 Comment 0
Looking across the Patio de Los Aljibes of the Alcazar to the Torre del Oro and, in the distance the Church of San Pedro
Heart 2 Comment 0
A look over Carmona from the Alcazar, with views of Iglesia de Santa María, Iglesia del Divino Salvador, and Iglesia de San Bartolmé (L to R)
Heart 2 Comment 0
The rooftops of Carmona
Heart 2 Comment 1
Jacquie GaudetI like all the solar panels! I don’t recall seeing many at all when we were in Andalusia just 18 months ago.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

 Holy Thursday is among the most important days in Holy Week for it is the day of the Last Supper when Christ instituted the ritual of the Eucharist, or Holy Communion. In Seville, processions are continuous throughout the night, from midnight until noon the following day. This was not the case in Carmona, but the air was charged with anticipation for as I headed for the square, looking for something to eat. Again, I found only the Buñuelo kiosk. It was a small supper and an early night for me.

Waiting in line for dinner
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Jacquie GaudetHope you’re feeling better by the time you read this.

We’ve only noticed a few nattily-dressed spectators at the processions we’ve seen in Piazza Armerina and Enna. Mostly, people were wearing whatever they could find that might be warm. It’s unseasonably cold here.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Jacquie GaudetThanks Jacquie - I’m feeling about the same, but thankfully not worse

I was in Puglia last Easter on a cold rainy day and seeking shelter I ended up at Sunday Mass. I remember being a bit amazed at how drab and everyday the clothes were - as you commented just trying to keep warm on a miserable day

Sorry you’re not having warmer weather
Reply to this comment
1 year ago