Dining with Friends and other Delights in Paris - Three, Two, One....Tour - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2023 to April 29, 2023

Dining with Friends and other Delights in Paris

I’ve settled back into life in Paris, feeling more like a resident than a visitor. Thanks to the online lessons, my French is improving and I’m growing more comfortable with complicated tasks – like going to the local HSBC branch to inquire why my Visa card was refused. The first week back in Paris was largely spent resting to rid myself of the persistent cold that nagged me during the last week in Spain – a task successfully completed in time for the big social events on my Paris calendar. 

 Wednesday, April 26

Christiane (a friend and the owner of “my” Paris apartment) and her friend Betty were scheduled to arrive from Bologna around 6 pm, so I spent much of the day cleaning the apartment and getting organized for my upcoming tour in the south of France. I’d asked them about dinner plans, offering to make reservations or wondering if they preferred dining at one of our neighborhood cafés. Christiane wrote back a somewhat cryptic message to the effect that “No thank you, we have something better planned.” I thought maybe Betty was bringing her famous lasagna, but instead they had made reservations for a late meal at La Café du Commerce, a classic Parisian brasserie established in 1921.

 It was not a long walk to the restaurant, and on entering I felt transported to a scene from Midnight in Paris – three levels of seating surrounded a large central atria and each white-covered table was attended to by a bustle of servers garbed in white shirts, black vests, and long aprons. The menu also reflected the classic French style and I dove right in: an entrée of white asparagus and a main of roast duck and dauphine potatoes with orange sauce. Christiane and Betty’s main, a roasted lamb shoulder for two, was carved table-side and served with roasted potatoes and haricot verts. My meal was splendid, with a depth of flavor that was unexpected and utterly delicious. A thoroughly enjoyable evening, it was a great start to a busy weekend sharing food and company with my favorite Parisian friends.

Le Café du Commerce
Heart 4 Comment 0
White asparagus season in France
Heart 6 Comment 3
Jacquie GaudetYum! I haven’t had white asparagus since forever, it seems. Not a “thing” in Italy where we’ve done our most recent spring tours and not really available at home.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Jacquie GaudetThe French do seemed to be obsessed with white asparagus. I had some grilled the other night that was truly divine. Maybe France next spring
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Susan CarpenterThey aren't nearly as obsessed as the Germans. In Germany in 2015, I had white "Spargel" for the first time and loved it. Good thing, because it was everywhere.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Betty and Christiane being silly on the walk home after dinner
Heart 8 Comment 0

Thursday, April 27

 The agenda today started with a trip to Musée d’Orsay to see a special exhibition on Manet and Degas. Born within two years of each other in the 1830s in Paris, they were childhood friends and were part of the Paris art scene in the last half of the 19th century. They had a contentious relationship as adults, but in fact harbored a mutual respect that resulted in Degas amassing a large and important collection of Manet’s painting. Manet died fairly early and unexpectedly in 1883 and the exhibit was confined to 1860s-1880s when both were active.

 The big event of the day was dinner with my friend Carla and her family. Due to her busy travel schedule, Carla and I had not seen each other during my two earlier stays in Paris, though I did manage to twice have lunch with her partner Alex. I was especially keen for our dinner tonight as we would be joined by her parents, Amanda and Hassan, who were visiting from their home in Argentina. I’d gotten close to her parents during their previous visits to Paris, and in 2019 they welcomed me into their home in Cordoba where we rang in the New Year, prior to my tour in Patagonia.

 Dinner was at Carla and Alex’s favorite neighborhood haunt near their place in the 13th, a place where Carla was viewed with such affection that a waiter gave Hassan his beret. The evening began and ended with big heartfelt hugs that bracketed 2.5 hours of great food and lively conversation in three, sometimes four languages. Amanda and Hassan will be gone by the time I’ve returned to Paris, but I departed knowing I’ll always have a home in Cordoba. 

Sidewalk greetings - Carla and her parents, Hassan and Amanda
Heart 4 Comment 0
Hassan, Carla, Alex, Susan, Miki, Amanda
Heart 5 Comment 0

Friday, April 28

Today was unremarkable day capped by another wonderful dinner at home with Sonja, one of Christiane’s dear Paris friends. Betty outdid herself with cooking – asparagus risotto, roast lamb and potatoes, salad, cheese, a modest desert of fresh strawberries and bananas – a true feast. I’ve not tasted such a fine risotto since I was in Tuscany five year ago, though I’ve been searching ever since. The conversation flowed freely as did the tears of laughter when Christiane and Sonja recalled, in unison, their favorite scenes from classic French comedies.

 The French love of film was a topic in my French class yesterday, and was clearly evident in our visit the next day to Gibert Joseph, a store renowned for its vast and diverse collection of new and used CDs, DVDs -  I could easily have spent hours looking through the collection of jazz and blues CDs while Christiane lost herself in the shelves of French cinema.

The table is set for another great dinner with friends, Chez Nous
Heart 6 Comment 0
A relaxed dinner at home with friends - Betty, Sonja, Susan, and Christiane
Heart 7 Comment 0

Saturday, April 29

Sunday afternoon represented some of the best that Paris has to offer for residents and tourists alike. It started with a couple of hours spent wandering through Luxembourg Gardens followed by a leisurely stroll  along the streets of Paris and a slow dip into the music and film collection at Gibert Joseph. We closed out the afternoon at a sidewalk café near the Odéon, sipping hot chocolate and spritzers and savoring the sights and sounds of a late afternoon in Paris.

Pan welcomes us to Luxembourg Gardens
Heart 5 Comment 0
Love the tail
Heart 4 Comment 0
Capturing the moment
Heart 4 Comment 0
In Luxembourg Gardens
Heart 0 Comment 0
Spring flowers in Luxembourg Gardens
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I AM THE KING OF THE JUNGLE
Heart 1 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesOr possibly "I am Aslan of Narnia".
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsOr maybe "If I / were the King / of the forrrrrrressssst..."?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The joy of friendship
Heart 5 Comment 0
The sculpture "Le cri, l’écrit" (The scream, the writing), by Fabrice Hyber, symbolizes slavery and it's abolition. Along with nearby plaques, this work commemorates the national day of the abolition of the slave trade and slavery in France, which is each year on May 10.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The reverse side of "Le crie, l'écrit" is rounded and black. As explained in a nearby plaque, the lower ring represents the roots of slavery, the middle ring the ongoing years and still present possibility of slavery, and the open upper ring the abolition of slavery
Heart 1 Comment 0
Carving on the lower ring of "Le crie, l'écrit"
Heart 2 Comment 0
Medici Fountain, Luxembourg Gardens
Heart 3 Comment 0
le dilettante
Heart 1 Comment 0
How much is that bamboo bike in the window?
Heart 5 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesThey are so elegant that we would be terrified to take them on tour.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Lucy MartinNow I want a bamboo bike
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Just a sampling of the dvd collection at Gibert Joseph
Heart 3 Comment 0

The final act of this three act tour opens tomorrow. I'll be spending the day on trains making my way to Arles where I will meet up with Suzanne and Janos for a week-long ride through Provence,  part of their own grand tour through France and Italy. I'm most excited to see them again and share what no doubt will  be another great multiple-Cycle Blazer adventure.

Janos has the car loaded up and ready to start his and Suzanne's Grand Tour
Heart 7 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 11
Scott AndersonRemind me again of exactly why you’re heading back to North Carolina when this is over?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonIt's a question I've asked myself several times lately
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonI can’t wait to read about you adventures with Suzanne and Janos!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kirsten KaarsooSusan you are taking full advantage of your time in Paris between your tours. Enjoying friends etc Life if good!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Kirsten KaarsooLife certainly is good - I am very fortunate
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraSounds and looks like you have a nice little set up there, en Paris. Oui? Tu as une belle vie?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierYou are extracting more joy out of Paris than anyone I know! I love your descriptions of your outings with friends. Good friends are what makes life sweet, and French people can be such good friends.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rich FrasierThanks Rich. I find the French really do find joy in the company of others
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Patrick O'HaraBien sûr - ma vie est très belle!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Janice BranhamIt's such a treat to follow your romp around Paris.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Janice BranhamThanks - and I certainly do love to romp around this great city!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago