Update: Less Than Two Months to Go - Title TBD - CycleBlaze

Update: Less Than Two Months to Go

The tour, whatever it ends up being (coast to coast, or something shorter) is much more likely to happen now, after I recently purchased a plane ticket to San Luis Obispo, California for June 13th. I talked to my local bike shop about boxing the bike and shipping it to a shop in Morro Bay. I also talked to the Morro Bay shop about reassembling it. I need to work out the details, but it sounds like shipping it will work. I prefer that to trying to take the bike on the plane.

I haven't done any more planning on the route itself, though. My idea is still to ride east from Morro Bay, skirting the Bakersfield area, attempting to find quiet farm roads, then climb up and over the Sequoia National Forest, then down to US-395, where I'd ride on the wide shoulder north to US-6, and a very empty part of Nevada.

I'd love to hear any routing suggestions.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Mark BinghamMaybe John Egan might have some suggestions?
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Jeff LeeTo Mark BinghamI've been in contact with John, AKA the Route Master, already. I'll probably try to ride in Wyoming on this tour, where he lives, and of course knows literally every road.

But I thought someone in California or Nevada might have some local suggestions.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Kelly IniguezNot a routing suggestion - but we will be arriving in St. Mary, MT on June 13th. The 14th will be the last day for a car free ride up Logan Pass/Going to the Sun Road. We are hoping the road will be plowed to the top.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Jeff LeeTo Kelly IniguezHey Kelly,

I hope you have a great tour. I rode Going to the Sun Road back in 2008. It's ultra scenic. It should be even nicer without cars. When I did it, there were annoying rules about when bicyclists had to be off the road. That should not be an issue for you when you do it.

Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago