Fifth 100-Mile Ride of 2024 - Title TBD - CycleBlaze

Fifth 100-Mile Ride of 2024

I took the Fargo out for another long ride on Sunday, March 5th. Temperatures were in the 60s, and there wasn't much wind. Very pleasant.

I rode across the new bridge at Spottsville, and took the River Road into the industrial outskirts of Owensboro, then rode onto the The Greenbelt, an urban bike path that I'd only done a small portion of in the past.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Greenbelt trail.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Part of the Greenbelt is next to busy roads.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Like a lot (most)? urban trails, this one is sometimes hard to navigate. This was the first time on the trail that I figured out how to navigate the busy area round a Kroger store.

There was a Little Caesar's pizza place immediately adjacent to the trail, although it was a little too early for that. I'll keep this place in mind, though, the  next time I ride the trail.

Heart 2 Comment 0

The trail eventually meandered into the less populated east end of Owensboro.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I stopped at a gas station and bought pizza, Gatorade, and a Little Debbie cake, which I ate outside.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Then I rode onto the first of several quiet country roads. I decided to make a loop on this side of the Green River, and recross it at Spottsville.

Heart 1 Comment 0
An old country store whose sign was so faded it's barely legible. This photo didn't really turn out that well.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
You can barely read the "Coca Cola"... I think that's what it is.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Striking home out in the country.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I arrived home with 87 miles done, but decided I was too close to 100 miles to quit, so after refilling my water bottles, I rode five or six miles to where I-69 is being extended all the way to the Ohio River, where (someday) Indiana and Kentucky will come to some agreement on building a new bridge across the River.

It was Sunday, and no one was working on what I presume is usually an extremely busy worksite. I carried my bike over the gate.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

There were dozens of pieces of heavy machinery sitting around, but no people. I gingerly made my way to the new section of I-69 and rode a little bit of it.

The new portion of I-69.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After that I left the construction site, and entered a gravel road that, for some reason, I'd never ridden on.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Back home, I initially felt great after the long ride, but later in the evening experienced pretty severe intestinal problems, and was up several times in the night, being sick and lying on the bathroom floor. Was it the gas station pizza? Seems like food poisoning from that would have taken longer to have made me sick.

By the time I write this, 24 hours later, I'm feeling somewhat better. Hopefully an episode like this one won't happen on the tour. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0