Drive toward boudin: great food and music are the attractions to Zydeco - Zydeco with Hinault - CycleBlaze

April 3, 2018

Drive toward boudin: great food and music are the attractions to Zydeco

Loading up the old pickup for three of us to head down south. After the brutal and raw winter in the KC area we are more than eager for some warmth and fun riding. This is my second foray of riding this calendar year but it seems a very long time since my great AZ ride with Kelly. An added attraction is that the great Bernard Hinault is the Grand Marshall of the tour. I look forward to riding alongside him, even if for a little while.

I feel almost guilty placing this as a “tour” because it is so short and easy. But hey, my huge following (Kelly I and my mother) want to know about my many pusuits. I will be riding my trusty P 38 again on this one, least of all because itis so comfy. And did I tell you, Louisiana is FLAT! It is forecast for rain all the time we’re riding so I’ve encased my foam seat in plastic bags, each turned opposite to keep open foam from being soppy. Hope it works. Will report.

One of the best things I like about this he bike is the fact that no Lycra is required.But I havn’t packed my trusty cut-offs this trip instead opting for t

he stretch stuff primarily beacause it packs tighter and drys quicker. I’m riding using a Lycra tight over a cheap Wallmart nyon brief. At 3 plus $ apiece I can just toss em daily.

Spoon

Bernard Hinault - 5 time Tour de France winner -to be at Cycle Zydeco
Heart 0 Comment 0
April Fool Snow here in KC - very slick outside
Heart 0 Comment 0
Climbing on my loaded P 38
Heart 0 Comment 0

Posted via email on Mon Apr 2 15:15:01 2018 PDT

Bags and bikes ready to go!

Well, the hard work of sorting, stuffing and packing everything into a single bag is done. Gonna rain on us here in the a

m and along the way so puttin plastic bags on gear is a must. We put the carrier behind the vehicle earlier today so we’ll load the bikes tomorrow, hopefully not in the rain!

Go Zydeco

Spoon

Heart 0 Comment 0

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0