In Washington Park - Balkan Dreams - CycleBlaze

November 9, 2020

In Washington Park

With a long string of dreary days ahead, we’re settling in for a lot of quality indoor time.  For Rocky, this includes working up a sweat over the handlebars of the Straggler, staring at a wall and listening to music.  We hauled the trainer out of storage and I quickly reassembled it for her last night.  I tell her it will take 5-10 minutes, but 45 minutes later she’s gone off to bed and I’m still wrapping up.  It’s only the second time I’ve put it together (the first was last spring in John Day, soon after that unfortunate dog incident), and it was no easier this time than the last.  It didn’t help that our exact model has been discontinued and there are no online assembly instructions or video that I could find; and of course my memory of how I assembled this jigsaw puzzle last time was of little help.

Success! Let the training begin!
Heart 1 Comment 0

There’s no need for the trainer today though, because we’ve got a break in the weather - probably one of the last days that we can get out and appreciate the spectacular autumn colors before the next big wind and rain storm strips the leaves away.

We could hop on the bikes, but it’s chilly enough that we both decide to take walks instead.  We go separately so that Rachael can get in a real workout and not be held up by me poking along with my bad knees and the camera.  You might remember that I slipped on the stair to our bathroom two or three weeks ago; and although I didn’t fall, the impact when my feet thudded against the floor was forceful enough that I was sure I’d pay a price for it.  Three weeks later, I’m still waiting for my knees to work their way back to their baseline state, which was none too good in the first place.

Poor me.  I should quit whining and just be happy to get out.  I read an article a few days ago about how dogs age, and the similarity to the aging arc that humans experience.  Since then I’ve taken to picturing myself as a grey-muzzled black lab, limping along but still eager to get out for a walk through the neighborhood.

On a more upbeat note, I had my appointment with a dermatologist last week.  The lesion I’d been worried about magically improved greatly once I started leaving it alone, and I felt a bit silly going in for an exam when the time came.  I’m happy to report that after a full body exam that left few square inches of surface area unexamined, I came away with a clean bill of health and the recommendation that I wear more sunscreen and quit picking at my wounds.

So, enough about me.  Let’s take a walk up through Washington Park and the arboretum for another look at one of the most spectacular autumns I remember seeing in Portland.

It really is stunning in Washington Park right now. There’s such diversity.
Heart 5 Comment 0
One of the great things about walking through the arboretum is that so many of the trees are labeled. This is Pistacia Chinense, the Chinese Pistache.
Heart 2 Comment 0
No label on this one though. If you recognize it, please speak up.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Sweet gum and maples. It’s almost as spectacular looking down as up.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Japanese maple, along Fairview Boulevard.
Heart 2 Comment 0
White barked Himalayan Birch.
Heart 2 Comment 0
An umbrella tree (sorry I didn’t note the scientific name - I assume it’s a variety of Schefflera). Leaves are huge, with some being well over a foot long.
Heart 1 Comment 5
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like umbrella magnolia, which would be Magnolia tripetala.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magnolia_tripetala
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltOh, well sure. That makes sense, It’s labeled ‘umbrella tree’, but it’s quite an old sign, I’m sure. I’ve come across a couple of other trees up there with common names that are out of favor, or even species names that have been reclassified since.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jen RahnWe came across some of these leaves on our walk the other day. I picked one up and carried it for at least a couple miles, waving it around and stirring up childhood memories.

If these leaves had been in my backyard when I was 7 or so, I probably would have thought if I held one in each hand and flapped them fast enough I could fly. I tried this with small branches of smaller-leaf trees, jumping off the brick trash burner. It never worked, but was sure fun trying.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Jen RahnOh, of course - it’s a Dumbo Tree! It reminds me of this favorite photo from our first tour of Taiwan: https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/taiwan2014/hualien/#3275_2131400_j4vbDq_image.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jen RahnThat is a fantastic photo!!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Beneath the umbrella tree.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Cladrastis kentuckea, aka Yellowwood.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Carriere Hawthorn (Crataegus x lavalleei).
Heart 2 Comment 0
When I think of dogwoods I think of how showy they are in the spring when in blossom. They might be even more colorful and variegated in autumn though.
Heart 2 Comment 0
In Washington Park.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltNice variety of colors, shapes, textures & contrast.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Albizia julibrissin, the Persian silk tree.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Metasequoia, the Dawn redwood. We saw this deciduous conifer in spring in the Heritage Tree Quest, before it had yet foliated.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Jen RahnWow! That's the showiest conifer I've ever seen.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Jen RahnMe too. I’d heard they were really colorful in the fall before their needles drop, so I was watching out for it. When I saw Therese in the sprin* they were still bare.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
The beautiful Vietnam Veterans of Oregon Memorial.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Too far off, so I don’t know what this thing is. Pretty though.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Along the Maple Trail.
Heart 3 Comment 0
In Washington Park.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another unlabeled plant I’m curious about. Makes me think of a nightshade.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltPhoto matches harlequin glorybower.

https://www.heraldnet.com/life/plant-of-merit-clerodendrum-trichotomum-harlequin-glorybower/#:~:text=This%20plant%20has%20some%20very,lasting%20and%20fragrant%20white%20flowers.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltSpot on! And what a great name for such a colorful plant.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
At the Oregon Holocaust Memorial.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Under the Sassafras and California Bay trees.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The ever popular Ginkgo biloba.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltI always find it interesting how they turn bright yellow for a few days, then almost overnight drop them all.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Bob DistelbergYou captured some amazing colors! And good news from the dermatologist. That must be a huge load off your mind.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Carolyn van HoeveYour reference to your knees and I had just finished reading this article in one of our newspapers this morning. I've been grizzling about the onset of aching knees and back and this article confirms that we need to suck it up and keep exercising. You're a role model for that!!
https://www.stuff.co.nz/life-style/well-good/123235373/the-pain-question-why-does-it-hurt-to-get-older-why-does-it-hurt-at-all
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Rachael AndersonTo Carolyn van HoeveThis is a great article and makes a lot of sense.Iā€™m definitely having more aches and pains and issues with cold and heat but getting out on a bicycle ride or long walk really helps. Thanks for sharing!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jen RahnGreat to hear that your skin check went well.

And I'll bet your mind was so enthralled with the colors at Washington Park that it forgot about your achy knees for a bit!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Carolyn van HoeveThanks for passing this on, Carolyn. I especially appreciated the wrap up statement at the end of the article: ā€œ In the end, there is no cure for growing old, stiff and creaky. But how you adapt to the changes is something under your control.ā€
Reply to this comment
3 years ago