Day 8: Cozad, NE to Kearney, NE - Younger on Two Wheels 2021 - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2021

Day 8: Cozad, NE to Kearney, NE

A pretty uneventful day. I got out around 8am and my friend the crosswind was still there – maybe a touch less strong, but still a constant presence.

I am definitely finding myself hungry more often while doing this. Almost every day I seem to need a “second breakfast”.

My second breakfast today:

Heart 0 Comment 0

One bird I’ve seen a lot more of out on these highways are cliff swallows (or maybe they are swifts – not sure). They seem to be swarming under every bridge I pass.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Other than that, all I have to look at is cornfields, train tracks, and horizons. Today’s route was pancake flat and the road hardly ever curved – not very exciting. Here’s my normal scenery:

Heart 0 Comment 0

I’m now in Kearney, NE (pronounced karney) and tomorrow is a rest day before I check in to the Tour de Nebraska on Tuesday. I have exciting plans like getting a haircut.

There are two standout tracks today. “Everything is Borrowed” by The Streets. This had me considering my place in the world, materialism, and how things are replaceable but experiences are not.

The second was “Paranoid Android” by Radiohead. One of my all time favorite songs, it was playing as I rolled into Kearney, making me feel as if I’d won another day.

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 437 miles (703 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0