Day 3: Cheyenne, WY to Kimball, NE - Younger on Two Wheels 2021 - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2021

Day 3: Cheyenne, WY to Kimball, NE

Heart 0 Comment 0

Cheyenne actually has a pretty decent trail system for its size. It even had me pass an oil refinery - just like the Sand Creek Trail in Denver.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I hope this isn't his zombie-apocalypse hideout - it won't last long!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Once I left town, I was on various frontage roads along I-80 most of the day. It was hot, and the wind from the south began to pick up, trying to push me out into traffic.

Nebraska rest-stop. Just gotta wait it out...

Heart 0 Comment 0

Cows in this part of Nebraska are funny. They don't seem to have ever seen a person on a bicycle. The adults just stare, and some of the calves run away. When a car goes past they pay no attention at all, but bikes are something strange!

Heart 0 Comment 0

It was getting pretty hot and the wind from the south was very dry. In Pine Bluffs I stopped for a root beer float while this friendly dinosaur guarded my ride. It may have been the best thing I ever tasted!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Kimball at last - from Pine Bluffs to here was pretty miserable with a stiff crosswind and above 90 temps. I was glad to finally make it.

Tomorrow I head north to Scottsbluff.

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 200 miles (322 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0