Day 25: Mineral Point, WI to Madison, WI - Younger on Two Wheels 2021 - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2021

Day 25: Mineral Point, WI to Madison, WI

Wow! Best riding day yet, on this trip!

Mineral Point is a cute town with a good tourist draw – lots of artsy places, studios, and antique shops everywhere. Here’s downtown:

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stayed in a guest house built in 1839:

Heart 0 Comment 0

This was the bedroom with stone walls. The room was super quiet and I slept well!

Heart 0 Comment 0

The first few miles went slowly – there was a 10mph headwind, but I didn’t let that bother me. It was sunny, but not supposed to go over 80 – perfect cycling weather!

Once I hit Dodgeville, I hopped onto the Military Ridge State Trail. This would be my route for the next 40 miles, into suburban Madison.

I was a bit taken aback when I realized the trail was dirt/gravel – not paved. To my surprise, my average speed went up – probably because the trees lining the trail blocked the wind somewhat.

My view for 40 miles of beautiful Wisconsin countryside:

Heart 0 Comment 0

For a few miles I rode with a couple from Blue Mounds, who ride the trail regularly. Apparently it’s a rail-to-trail conversion and has been here over 20 years. Occasionally, I would get glimpses of the Wisconsin countryside beyond the trail:

Heart 0 Comment 0

And the trail passed through towns – here’s Ridgeway, where the old train station is still standing:

Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped for lunch in Mount Horeb. This is a town that has completely embraced the trail running through it. The main street was just 2 blocks off the trail with many access points, making it easy to hop off and go to a restaurant or shop.

A few miles later, I was entering Madison. Madison has a very good bicycle infrastructure – lanes and trails are everywhere, and I didn’t have to ride on a street until I was almost downtown. Here’s the state capitol building – home to some really inspiring protests about 10 years ago.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Top track today was “I Feel Energy” by Dirty Projectors. Upbeat and fun, which is how I felt almost all day!

Tomorrow I head to Delafield, WI. It’s supposed to be just a hair cooler than today, so pretty much perfect!

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 1,269 miles (2,042 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0