Day 17: Wahoo, NE to Council Bluffs, IA - Younger on Two Wheels 2021 - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2021

Day 17: Wahoo, NE to Council Bluffs, IA

Hey! I made it to another state! Nothing against Nebraska, but I think I was ready for a new one. I’ve heard Iowa cornfields look completely different than Nebraska cornfields!

I took it easy today and didn’t push. My old friend the crosswind was back, but I didn’t have as far to go, so I didn’t worry about it.

I was wrong about the Platte River – I had to cross it one more time. It’s gotten pretty wide!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today I learned there are grass farms. Places that just grow grass for sod, and that’s it. If you think about sod logically, someone has to grow it somewhere, but it’s something I had never thought about until I passed a couple of sod farms. Huge fields of nothing but lawn!

Heart 0 Comment 0

After 15 miles of the usual fields, I suddenly found myself on a suburban Omaha bike trail. It was pretty pleasant, with winding trails through shady trees. Shade isn’t something I’ve seen a lot of on this trip, so it was very welcome! There were a fair number of walkers and cyclists on this trail, so I had to slow down quite a bit.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Then it got even prettier with the trail going along Zorinsky Lake. Lots of people enjoying parks and the lakefront.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The idyllic scenery eventually yielded to several miles of industrial areas that were not pleasant for cycling. A combination of no shoulder, steep hills, lots of trucks, and bad roads made me wonder if there was a more pleasant route, but since I was in the city I had to just trust that the computer knew where I was going. I did pass one Kelloggs factory where I could smell several different varieties of cereal, but it wasn’t a fun part of the ride, overall.

Almost before I realized it, I was routed onto a bridge and found myself crossing the Missouri River. I had made it to Iowa! I know downtown Omaha is somewhere up on the left in this picture, but you can’t see it at all.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The sign was only on the other side of the road from the dedicated trail, so I couldn’t do a selfie. Sorry!

Heart 0 Comment 0

After that it was only a few more miles to my hotel – most of it on a multi-use trail. I was grateful for this as I’d had enough heavy traffic and trucks for a bit.

Top track today was also the first. “One Summer’s Day” by Joe Hisaishi. It’s from the Hayao Miyazaki movie “Spirited Away”. I was just pedaling out of Wahoo, and the music went perfectly with early morning sun and singing birds, and put me in a good mood.

Tomorrow I head to Atlantic, IA. More cornfields, I’m betting!

Here’s my birthday beer!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 829 miles (1,334 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0