Day 14: Tour-de-Nebraska Day 5: Hastings to Kearney - Younger on Two Wheels 2021 - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2021

Day 14: Tour-de-Nebraska Day 5: Hastings to Kearney

Today (Sunday) is the last riding day of the tour with a nearly 60-mile route from Hastings back to the start in Kearney.

Last night there was a lot of conversation about the predicted headwind, and it looked like a long day of riding.

Miraculously, the headwind never appeared, and we had absolutely no wind to speak of for the entire ride.

Our first stop was in a tiny town where an equally tiny bakery had cinnamon rolls and sticky buns ready.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The weather was so perfect, that we arrived at the lunch stop in Minden before 9am. They were scheduled to start at 9:30 but weren’t quite ready at 9. I enjoyed an apple fritter from Daylight Donuts and moved on.

The last 10 miles of the ride went on a bike trail that runs from Fort Kearney to Kearney, and was really pretty. Paved, smooth, crossing the Platte River and then a creek, and completely free of cars! Nice way to finish the ride.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

This also took us past the Archway. It spans I-80 and contains a museum dedicated to the western migration by settlers in the 19th century.

Overall – this whole tour was fun. It was well run and I met some really nice people. The cycling is great, but it’s the people and camaraderie that make me want to come back. I’ll definitely be back next year!

5 miles to go
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tomorrow (Monday) I’m back on my own and moving east again as I ride to Central City, NE.

I didn’t use playlists during the TDN as I don’t like using headphones when in groups – they will return tomorrow.

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 637 miles (1,025 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0