Lake Michigan Tour Day 4: Washington Island to Sturgeon Bay, WI - Younger on Two Wheels 2022: Lake Michigan - CycleBlaze

June 22, 2022

Lake Michigan Tour Day 4: Washington Island to Sturgeon Bay, WI

Here are the waves from last night that helped me sleep so well. I would never get tired of this!

Heart 0 Comment 0

There was a pelican floating around outside my window as well. Tried to get closer, but he was gone when I went outside.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Leaving Washington Island
Heart 0 Comment 0
Me on the Ferry
Heart 1 Comment 0

I had a wonderful breakfast of sausage, eggs, and icelandic pancakes (similar to crepes) and hit the road so I could make the first ferry at 9am.

The first several miles were retracing my route to the tip of the peninsula, so I had to re-climb all those steep little hills. It stayed cooler and never got above the low 80s.

The last 40% of the ride was fairly flat, and followed the east side of Green Bay, and I got to Sturgeon Bay about 3pm.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Sturgeon Bay has been a center of shipbuilding for over 100 years, and as I came into town, I passed the MV Mark W. Barker, sitting at Fincantieri Bay Shipbuilders. It’s a lake freighter that was supposed to launch this spring, but maybe there have been delays. It’s hard to tell from my picture, but it’s 639 feet long!

Reward at Day's End
Heart 0 Comment 0

I found my motel – a kitschy place with 1950s furniture in all the rooms, and strolled around downtown a bit. I could hear a music festival going on a few blocks away, and most storefronts seemed to be occupied. Sturgeon Bay must be doing better than many of the small towns I passed through in Nebraska.

Best song of the day: Long Train Runnin’ by the Doobie Brothers. Just a good tune for pedaling!

Stats: 52.5 miles, 1390 vertical feet, average speed 12.5mph

My apologies for getting these posts out late some days. The issue is wifi speed (specifically upload speed) in remote areas with slow internet. Uploading 100mb or more of pictures and video is just agonizingly slow (sometimes wanting to take 2 hours) and I can’t spend that long just staring at the screen, waiting for it to finish.

Tomorrow is a fairly short ride down to Green Bay, and a tour of Lambeau Field, home of the Green Bay Packers!

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 302 miles (486 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0