Day 78: Woss to Campbell River - Western North America - 2005 - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2005

Day 78: Woss to Campbell River

I awoke to bright blue skies, but I had to fix a flat tire right off. The morning ride to Sayward was easy - some climbing, but there wasn't any wind. And no wind is better than a headwind. The day got hot quickly, but trees alongside the road provided plenty of shade. And who am I to complain? After weeks of rain it was perfect cycling weather.

Highway 19 near Adam and Eve Rivers
Heart 0 Comment 0

I met Jean Pierre at the convenience store at Sayward Junction. We put all of our stuff out to dry - not from rain but from the heavy morning dew. We took a long, lazy lunch break. I refilled my front tire with air - obviously I still had a slow leak. Then we headed towards Campbell River. There was a pretty big climb to Big Tree Summit, then another drop and climb to Roberts Lake. And there were clearcuts everywhere - new ones - old ones. The older clearcuts had turned into fields of fireweed - a blaze of magenta with ancient stumps protruding here and there.

Huge Clearcut near Roberts Lake
Heart 0 Comment 0
Clearcut Overgrown with Fireweed
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a nice stop at the old Roberts Lake Lodge - and a big ice cream cone, of course. One last climb brought me to the coldest, sweetest spring water of the trip right at the summit. Then it was a zoom down into Campbell River, dinner, and a campsite in the woods at Elk Falls Provincial Park.

Johnstone Strait just North of Campbell River
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 84 miles (135 km)
Total: 4,195 miles (6,751 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0