Day 76: Prince Rupert to Port Hardy on the Ferry - Western North America - 2005 - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2005

Day 76: Prince Rupert to Port Hardy on the Ferry

Amazing! It's raining. We loaded up. I left a little before Jean Pierre because I had to buy a ticket and he already had his. I rode across the island in the drizzle to the terminal. While waiting in line, I met Jeff who had cycled down from Alaska. He's a wildlife biologist working on his PhD. We talked at length about the politicization of environmental research and the selective way in which federal land managers use data. Since he worked with the park service, he's seen it firsthand.

Prince Rupert Just After the Ferry Departed
Heart 0 Comment 0

The ferry trip was foggy and rainy. Ann and Robert, the folks I had met on the train, threatened to throw me overboard because I had said that I seemed to bring rain with me. Given the weather, everybody tended to congregate in the cafes to eat or in the big lounge chairs to sleep. Jean Pierre's neck was still bothering him and he was out like a light. I pigged out on the lunch buffet and waddled away.

A Rainy Cruise through the Inside Passage
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lighthouse on the Inside Passage
Heart 0 Comment 0

They kept showing movies in the front lounge, so I went back midship with Jeff and met a couple from Ontario. Unfortunately, a 13-year-old plugged in his electric guitar in the game room and started belting out the only three chords he knew. Oh well, it would be time for dinner, soon.

After All the Rain There Comes the Rainbow
Heart 0 Comment 0

Jean Pierre was better by dinnertime. He thoroughly enjoyed his salmon, mussels, and roast beef. Given that I had had the lunch buffet, I just couldn't get my money's worth at dinner, too. Afterwards, I played idiot poker with Ann and Robert and their son, Luke. He was totally into it - which made it all the more fun. By now, the sun was finally out and setting. Everyone went out on the aft decks to watch.

A Glorious Sunset - Clear Weather to Come
Heart 0 Comment 0

When we docked it was pitch black. Jean Pierre, Jeff, and I found a boat ramp and rest area a few hundred meters from the ferry terminal. We set up our tents under the "No Camping" signs. To hell with authority.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0