Day 67: Mount Robson to Goat River - Western North America - 2005 - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2005

Day 67: Mount Robson to Goat River

Okay! I'm sitting in an outhouse writing this. In the middle of nowhere - with the rain pouring down. But at least I'm in the outhouse.

This morning I ran into Jean Pierre again - the French guy who was touring out to Prince Rupert - so we decided to ride together. He doesn't speak much English, puis je dois parler français. You couldn't even see Mount Robson from the cafe this morning, but it least it had stopped raining. We headed out for Tete Jaune Cache where the owner of the little store likes to take photos of touring cyclists. What's more - he gives cyclists big discounts. Wow! JP went on ahead while we yakked.

Old Barn in the Fraser Valley
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fraser River near McBride
Heart 0 Comment 0

The weather improved a bit heading into McBride, but there was a persistent headwind. When I got into town, Jean Pierre was ready to leave. I wanted to lounge around the park, dry out my tent, and check out the town. Also, McBride is the last piece of civilization (That's civilisation in Canada.) for 200 km. So I wanted to get a little extra.

Railroad Depot in McBride
Heart 0 Comment 0

As it turned out, I'm glad I did since the stretch of road to Goat River is tough and lonely - plus I got hit by two big rain storms with strong winds, I got into the rest area just before another storm hit - the one coming down on the outhouse right now. I found Jean Pierre eating in his tent!!! Out in the middle of nowhere - definitely grizzly country. After explaining about the danger from bears, we hung our food panniers from the bridge. I set up my tent just as it was getting dark. Wet and smelly. Wet and smelly and rain all night.

Today's ride: 83 miles (134 km)
Total: 3,571 miles (5,747 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0