Day 65: Jasper to Mount Robson - Western North America - 2005 - CycleBlaze

July 21, 2005

Day 65: Jasper to Mount Robson

Markus didn't get up until after 10:00 and all my thing were in the room. That really put me late starting. You would think he would have accommodated me a bit since not only did I let him "share" the room, but I gave him the bed. Kinda took a little luster off the rose. I ran a number of errands and made a few phone calls - then I sat down and had lunch in front of the old, historic Jasper Visitors' Centre.

The Park Around the Visitors' Centre Attracts Tourists and Troubadours
Heart 0 Comment 0

I finally took off in the afternoon for Mount Robson. After raining all night it was a perfectly blue day with just a hint of a breeze.

Heading towards Yellowhead Pass, Mount Robson on the Horizon
Heart 0 Comment 0

The ride up Yellowhead Pass was easy since it is the lowest pass in the Rockies, but then you don't get any downhill on the other side, either.

Approaching Yellowhead Pass
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Wildflowers on the Roadside Were Gorgeous
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yellowhead Lake Was a Nice Spot for a Late Lunch
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a little headwind as soon as I got into British Columbia, but thankfully, the wind died down as I was riding along the shore of Moose Lake. I thought I was losing my oomph, but it was probably being out in the sun all day for the first time in a week or more. It was not until I came tearing down the hill to the main park entrance that I saw Mount Robson - and it took my breath away. Never before have I seen it so beautiful. The entire mountain was etched against a deep blue sky - its layer-cake, snow-encrusted face illuminated by the afternoon sun. Was all the rain worth just this one moment?

Rare Cloudless View of Mount Robson
Heart 0 Comment 0

I dashed into the visitors' centre and got my backcountry pass for Kinney Lake. I stopped by the cafe and had an ice cream cone and chatted with the owner, Anne. Then I was off on the dirt road along the Robson River - frothing and turquoise with glacial silt. Kinney Lake was as lovely as ever - with sheer rock walls all about and waterfalls cascading down.

I met a couple from Belgium, Danni and Jan, who were cycling much the way I do. Too bad we were going in opposite directions. I gobbled down my usual peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and cookies, sat by the lakeshore as the twilight dimmed, climbed into my tent, and went right to sleep.

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 3,488 miles (5,613 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0