Day 59: Oldman River to Highwood River - Western North America - 2005 - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2005

Day 59: Oldman River to Highwood River

Another gorgeous sunrise. Although there was the occasional car crossing the highway bridge, it was the Oldman River, cascading over rocky ledges that lulled me to sleep last night.

Oldman River above the Reservoir
Heart 0 Comment 0

The morning ride was very pleasant. Highway 22 had a fair bit of Calgary traffic, but it had good shoulders. There was a faint south wind which made the black flies all the more of a nuisance.

Just Beautiful!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped at Chain Lake Provincial Park and had a burger and fries at the kiosk, then on my way to Longview I ran into a couple of cyclists heading north - unfortunately to Calgary. Rob and Alison had been teaching English in Taiwan. Rob's heading around the world. Alison is going with him as far as Winnipeg then going back to B.C. for grad school. We had a nice late lunch together. Solved all the world's problems. Clowned around and took some pics.

Alison and Rob Clowning Around
Heart 0 Comment 0

I though I was going to get a tailwind to Highwood Junction. Instead I got a chilly headwind. Then it started raining.

An Oil Well - a.k.a. Alberta Gold - West of Longview
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was taking a short break in a picnic area in Highwood Park when I discovered a trail leading off to a perfect camping spot by the river. So I set up my tent and looked forward to a quiet night. Not so. Past midnight, a carload of kids parked on the loop with stereo blasting. I was startled out of my sleep and decided to dress and sit quietly next to my tent in case I had to skeedaddle. As expected, they were very drunk and very stoned and didn't even realize I was there. They played the same song over and over and over. After about two hours, they dumped all their cans and bottles out by the side of the road and left. So much for a quiet night.

Today's ride: 81 miles (130 km)
Total: 3,141 miles (5,055 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0