Day 56: Sunrise to Many Glacier - Western North America - 2005 - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2005

Day 56: Sunrise to Many Glacier

(Been getting long-winded lately.)

Boy was it a loud night last night. People talking - starting cars - inflating mattresses with motors - horns beeping every time someone locked or unlocked a car. So it was nice to ride down to the lakeshore for breakfast where it was empty and quiet. Delightful in fact.

Breakfast on the Shore of St Marys Lake
Heart 0 Comment 0

I rode the back road around Lower St Mary Lake. It was mostly dirt and rutted in a few places, but it was empty. Many Glacier Road was a different story - busy with cars, RVs, and motorcycles - but not a single cyclist.

Swiftcurrent Creek near Babb
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got to Many Glacier campground to discover that they had moved the hiker/biker campsite to a postage stamp at the intersection of two loops. Yet more evidence that cycling sucks in the national parks and that the parks really don't care.

Wildflower Meadow at Many Glacier
Heart 0 Comment 0

I hiked over to the far shore of Swiftcurrent Lake and spent the afternoon on the rocks. When I got back I took a shower and washed out some of my clothes. Actually, I wash my clothes while I still have them on - then I wash me. I met a nice couple from Tacoma - Gabe and Jaci - who were hiking in the park. We talked at length about faith and service. Then I wrote another diatribe to Don and Bev back in Lawrence while I was having a great pasta dinner at the Swiftcurrent Inn.

Tour Boat at Lake Josephine
Heart 0 Comment 0

I finished up the day with a quiet walk out to Redrock Lake. The sun had already dropped behind Swiftcurrent Mountain; yet, all the other peaks remained brightly lit. The breeze was stiff - drowning out the rapids and waterfalls at times. I sat on the shore of the lake and watched the crescent moon come out right over the crest of Grinnell Peak.

Redrock Lake and Mount Grinnell at Sunset
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 2,946 miles (4,741 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0