Day 50: Livingston to White Sulphur Springs - Western North America - 2005 - CycleBlaze

July 6, 2005

Day 50: Livingston to White Sulphur Springs

The magpies woke me up with their incessant cawing. In fact, they were poking around the edge of the tent and I was afraid they might poke a hole in it. Pat was moving slower, so I went into town for a pastry and coffee. It turned out that we didn't reconnect in Livingston.

Downtown Livingston and the Northern Pacific Depot
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Real West vs. the Hollywood West
Heart 0 Comment 0

I waited and waited, then headed out out Old Clyde Park Road and up the Shields River Valley. It was just beautiful - with the Crazy Mountains off to the east in the distance.

Fields along US 89 with the Crazy Mountains in the Distance
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old Grain Elevator in the Shields River Valley
Heart 0 Comment 0

US 89 got quieter the further north I went. I stopped at the little grocery store in Clyde Park for cookies and milk. Out on the front bench, I ended up talking politics with the bread delivery guy and a local. Then I cycled the 8 miles to Wilsall.

A Side Street in Wilsall with an Old Grain Elevator
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was a group of cyclists from California in front of the cafe and store. I don't know why, but I have a hard time with cycling groups. I was invisible to them - except for an 80-year old guy who sat next to me and asked where I was going. I only had a so-so lunch at the cafe, but it kept me there long enough for Pat to show up.

Cottonwood Reservoir and the Bridger Mountains
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a tough 20+ miles to Ringling where Ivan Doig used to get on the train for Chicago. Of course, the Milwaukee Road tracks are long gone and the depot is peeling and sagging. Then there was a tough stretch of construction, but it was followed by a pretty easy jaunt on into White Sulphur Springs. No Aspen or Big Sky here. Just a hard-boiled Montana town with great hot springs for soaking away the miles. So we soaked - had dinner - and soaked some more.

No Trains, No Tracks, No Station Anymore
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 73 miles (117 km)
Total: 2,629 miles (4,231 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0