Day 5: Madera to Merced River - Western North America - 2005 - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2005

Day 5: Madera to Merced River

What a beautiful ride out to Hensley Lake! Once I got into the foothills, the riding was so much nicer

Dry Grass and Oak Trees along Hensley Lake Road
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped for chocolate milk and cookies at the Raymond Mercantile. Raymond is clearly a ranching community - real ranching - with cows and hay and cowboy boots that have stepped in shit more than once.

Raymond Mercantile on a Sunday Morning
Heart 0 Comment 0

After I left Raymond the road became brutal - with lots of steep climbs and descents. Maybe I should have gone through Chowchilla after all. I also started thinking that my gear ratio was not low enough.

Picnic Spot Under the Only Tree on Ben Hur Road
Heart 1 Comment 0

About ten miles before Mariposa, a lady and her son were sitting on their porch and offered me some ice cold water. It sure helped restore my energy level.

Oak Trees, Wildflowers, and Blue Skies
Heart 2 Comment 0

Mariposa was disappointing this time through. The downtown had fewer people than in previous visits - plus, there were a number of empty storefronts. The Yosemite Association bookstore was no longer there. And the real kicker - the ice cream shop had been torn down. And I had been thinking about a big ice cream cone for hours. Oh, well. I stopped in at the grocery store and stocked up to avoid park prices. Then, I waited out the heat of the afternoon on a shady bench out front. Wrote a few post cards and chatted with folks coming and going.

Main Street in Mariposa
Heart 0 Comment 0

Next up was Midpines Summit. I huffed and puffed and realized that I still had quite a few pounds to shed, but it was late in the day and the road was in the shade. Then I flew down the other side all the way to the Merced River, overshooting the Briceburg turnoff in order to avoid braking away all that speed. I camped on the abandoned rail line across the river just as it was getting dark. But it never got too dark because a full moon rose over the hills - illuminated the entire canyon. Moonlight and a rushing river - not a bad combination.

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 260 miles (418 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0