Day 4: Mercey Hot Springs to Madera - Western North America - 2005 - CycleBlaze

May 21, 2005

Day 4: Mercey Hot Springs to Madera

What a glorious sunrise! In the dry country with a chorus of birdsong.
But I waited too long. A strong north wind kicked in early in the morning.

Mercey Hot Springs in the Diablo Mountains
Heart 0 Comment 0

I struggled to ride downhill along Little Panoche Creek. When I got into the Valley, I took a long break in an apricot orchard, but when I got back on my bike, the wind wore me down. It took an hour to ride five miles.

Looking Up from a Nap in an Apricot Orchard
Heart 1 Comment 0

I stopped for another break at an elementary school to escape the wind. The janitor, working on Saturday, opened the bathroom up for me to use and so I could refill my water bottles. It's amazing that people with the least power and resources are often the most generous.

Farm in the Central Valley
Heart 0 Comment 0

The twelve miles into Firebaugh were long, straight, and monotonous - but, at least I had a sidewind instead of a headwind. Firebaugh is clearly a Valley town. The language is Spanish, small shops abound, and cars cruise up and down the main drag. I had a great lunch at a Mexican cafe and then took off an hour to snooze in the shade at the town park. I put off getting back into the wind as long as possible.

St. Joseph's Church in Firebaugh
Heart 0 Comment 0

Finally, I decided to head towards Madera instead of Chowchilla to avoid killer headwinds. Just as I was coming into town, I stopped at a convenience store where the owner was speaking an unfamiliar language. I asked him what it was, but he refused to answer. I sat down at a booth to have my Coke and Cheetos and started talking with a young guy in the next booth - the owner's son. It turns out that his dad was speaking Arabic, but was probably concerned about anti-Arab sentiment. The son was struggling to get back into college. I gave him as much encouragement as I could as well as a few tips to make it easier. I hope he gets back in.

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 201 miles (323 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0