Day 32: Day Off in Santa Fe - Western North America - 2005 - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2005

Day 32: Day Off in Santa Fe

Anne and I had a lazy morning. We talked to Tom and Ann Alison on the phone, played with Baby, flopped out on the sofas. Then we went to a meeting where I picked up my XV-year chip. We spent the better part of the afternoon playing Bach together - violin and piano partitas. It was just great.

My Sister, Anne
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a touch-and-go preliminary, the dinner party went great, too. Anne's friend wanted to make seafood bisque. Syd is a trained chef. Anne, on the other hand, just tosses things in the pan and sees what happens. Both got frustrated with the other. Fortunately, I managed to stave off a brouhaha. Toni brought canapés. Pam brought a delicious salad. Then we had bisque on puff pastry with steamed asparagus. Certainly the best meal I've had in a long time.

We adjourned to the patio for sunset over the Sandias and dessert. As usual, the conversation turned towards politics. Santa Fe is just so progressive. A heck of a lot more progressive than Buffalo, Wyoming. But Toni doesn't share our radical views, so Anne and I would put the brakes on whenever the Shrub was mentioned. Just a delightful evening.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0