Day 11: Mono Lake to Boundary Peak - Western North America - 2005 - CycleBlaze

May 28, 2005

Day 11: Mono Lake to Boundary Peak

Last night I shared a campsite in Lee Vining with Biff, a guy cycling up to Oregon and Washington. We are both the same age and he hadn't cycle toured since his twenties, so he asked me to share a pointer or two. What's the greatest gem of wisdom I can offer after all these years?? Well, you'll get there when you get there.

I had the pleasure of a lazy morning, a hot shower, and clean laundry. I chatted with the owners about Yosemite regulations. Seems that the owner of the Tioga Lodge can keep the highway open up to the Tioga Pass entrance with just a blade on his truck - even in a snowy year, but the park can't open the road on their side with a large crew and all the latest equipment. Having Tioga Pass open is crucial to Lee Vining's economy. I'm sure they will be taking a big hit this year.

JoAnn had all my stuff waiting for me at the post office - even though it was Saturday and she wasn't normally open. Thanks! I may have lost some weight already, but I more than replaced it with all the added gear. I bought some groceries and had my chocolate milk and bananas on the bench in front of the store. A number of folks coming in and out made comments like, "You sure are saving on gas money!" I just smiled and nodded.

Test Station Road Leading Down to Mono Lake
Heart 0 Comment 0

I headed east, taking the dirt road along Mono Lake. Big mistake! Deep sand! The views were simply incredible, but it was killer riding.

Indian Paintbrush on the Shore of Mono Lake
Heart 0 Comment 0

When I got back to the highway, I knew that it would be slow going. There's a steady, steep climb that seems much flatter to the eye. It's not. Plus I had a headwind. The forest helped to shield me from the wind, but there were big open stretches where there had been prescribed burns. When I got to the top the wind was really howling. The downhill was tough because of strong gusts. Somewhere coming down I picked up a big nail through the sidewall of my back tire. Great! The next place with a decent bike tire is probably Utah, but at least I have a sidewall kit.

Notch with White Mountains in the Distance
Heart 0 Comment 0

The White Mountains on the Nevada border are usually dry, but this year they had a lot of snow. I always love the view through the notch. From the crest, it was another fast zoom down to Benson. Had to use the brakes again - damn! At the Benson Cafe I had a big, chocolate milkshake. At first the locals there viewed me as a rather odd bird, but when we started talking about caring for elderly parents and the simple things in life, we found we had much in common. I got back on my bike again to ride to the border. The turn onto Highway 6 now meant that I had a strong tailwind. It's a steady climb, but the wind balanced out the incline. I crossed into Nevada at twilight with Boundary Peak looming overhead. I found a little dirt road that led into the sagebrush, tossed my sleeping bag onto my tarp, and slept under a glorious, star-filled sky.

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 522 miles (840 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0