Training - Off To See the Wizard - CycleBlaze

Training

Since we returned from our PCH tour in 2010 we have managed to average 30+ mi a ride four to seven days a week. We are going to call that our training since we always ride with at least our rear panniers (will be 'bags' from now on-I never say panniers in real life). We always have some weight in them but we do leave room for shopping as we stop daily at the local markets for fresh veggies etc. I am adding weight weekly (to the bags-trying to lose on me) and am sure we will ride with a full load for at least a few days prior- just to get the load settled in. Having toured three times with this setup we tend to pack everything in the same way to make sure we don't have any 'shimmy'.

The good news is we have had a really beautiful winter allowing us to ride everyday. The bad news is we have had a really beautiful winter - allowing for a major drought in CA. We have had some rain in the last weeks so hope it is adding to the snow pack!

We hope to make it down to Big Sur for at least one trip before we leave. April or May I am thinking. We usually have a lot of wind in those months so it could be a very interesting trip. From our house to Pfeiffer State Park camp is about 45mi - a down and back makes a great trip. If we go on down to Limeklin State Park the second day it makes a really nice weekend trip. 

We are so glad we live in this great training area. You may have noticed the hills in the photo - we never seem to have a ride without them....in fact we average 1500+ feet of elevation every ride. Maybe more - I just bought the Cateye Adventure I read about the other day and did what I thought was one of our more 'level' rides today and had a total of 1503 ft. The other fun fact I found out was that since we are at sea level when we go up - we go up. Most of the little hills I did today were 5-7% grades one was 11%. I can't wait to see what one of our hilly rides turn out to be. I had wanted something to give me elevation gain but didn't want to spend $300+. Then I read about the Adventure and found it online for 50% off - I thought what the heck. Now if I can just get the time set and change the temp from celsius to fahrenheit life will be good. ****don't buy it! Stopped working in Montana!

Enjoy a couple of my latest photos from Big Sur. I still haven't decided what camera to take with me. I want to take my Canon 60D but that would be just a bit heavy. I have been riding with my old Rebel and a Tamron 18-270 lens for a month or so but when it comes to cutting weight I may need to go with my Powershot or just the phone. I did our Santa Barbara to San Diego tour with only the phone (previous phone now have a Galaxy S III). The phone actually takes really nice pictures. For now I am keeping my options open.

Big Sur Coast
Heart 1 Comment 2
Ron SuchanekThat's beautiful. Have they gotten that section opened back up?
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Janet BeatyTo Ron SuchanekYes! Just opened last week!!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Fog Lines
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0