Training Continues - Off To See the Wizard - CycleBlaze

March 21, 2014

Training Continues

We continue to do our 30-40 mi rides four to five times a week. I did pull out all of our gear and stuffed and packed it into our bags. I now need to go through it again and see if there is anything we can leave behind. Mine came to 37 lbs. with out food/water. I think Jack's weighed in at about 40+'ish lbs. It was a fun exercise - found that everything had been stored in it's proper place. No surprises.....nothing lost or broken. That's always good news.

One item we are taking this trip is my “Bearikade”. It is from my backpacking days.....a carbon fiber bear can. Since we will be going through some serious bear country and it fit in Jacks large roller bag we decided why not. Now we will not need to worry about even the pesky raccoons.

Over the last couple of weeks I have biked 280 miles with 10,577 ft of elevation gain. Even with this, I have concerns about our first week on the road. We start in Eugene and the second day out we will need to go over McKenzie Pass 5,324ft if open. If not (which most likely will not be in May) we will take the Santiam Pass alternate at 4,817ft. I hope these are longer grades than the short steep ones we are used to.

I have been reading about the TransAm Race that starts June 7th. I am sure we will be passed by these riders pretty quickly. Will be fun to see how many there are and how 'light' they will be traveling compared to us.

 Rental car booked and made hotel reservations for Eugene. That sure makes it feel more real. Day 1 will be here before we know it.

Along our daily ride
Heart 0 Comment 0
Big Surf
Heart 2 Comment 0

These two photos were taken with my phone - not bad. When packing I decided that my Rebel with the travel lens was just to much weight. I am going with my phone and Canon Powershot only. It will be ok.

So...today (March 30th) I think I am bringing my Rebel again......Jack always says.....oh Lucy when I change my mind like this! 

Ok...for today I am going with the Rebel XS with the 18-270 lens.!!

Hang Glider Monterey Bay
Heart 0 Comment 0
Harbor Seals Ready to Pup - Monterey Bay
Heart 0 Comment 0
Monterey Harbor
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0